Next in Line: British Royal Family Order of Succession in Pictures

Getty Images
00-royals01 Prince Charles02 Prince William03 Prince George04 Princess Charlotte+12

The order of succession to the British throne is the sequence in which members of the Royal Family would come to the throne if the reigning monarch died or abdicated. 

Traditionally, males came before females in the line of succession. However, in March 2015 the law was changed to end the system of male primogeniture, so that for children born after October 28, 2011 the succession is determined only by age, not gender. (This change came too late for Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor, one place behind her younger brother.)