When Is the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup? Dates, TV Channel, Schedule and Tournament Odds

FIFA Women's World Cup
The FIFA Women's World Cup trophy on display during the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019 Draw at La Seine Musicale on December 8, 2018 in Paris, France. Getty/Dean Mouhtaropoulos

The eighth edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup gets underway in France on Friday, as the hosts take on South Korea in Paris.

The U.S.A., winners four years ago in Canada, begin the defense of their trophy next week, when they take on Thailand in Reims on June 11.

Here's everything you need to know about the tournament.

When and where is the World Cup?

The World Cup takes place in France, which becomes the third European nation to host the most prestigious competition in women's soccer.

The tournament gets underway on Friday, June 7 in Paris, and ends a month later with the final in Lyon.

Aside from Paris and Lyon, matches will be hosted by seven other cities—Grenoble, Le Havre, Montpellier, Nice, Reims, Rennes and Valenciennes.

TV channel

Every game of the tournament will be available in the U.S., with FOX Sports and FOX Sports 1 broadcasting coverage in English. The former will broadcast 22 games, more than it has done at any other Women's World Cup, while the latter will broadcast 27 matches.

Meanwhile, Telemundo and Universo will air coverage in Spanish. The former will broadcast 21 games, twice as many as it did four years ago, while 24 games will be aired on Universo.

Live stream

All of the 52 games will also be available on FOX Sports' and Telemundo Deportes' digital platforms. Live streams will also be available on fuboTV, Sling Blue, Hulu Live and PlayStation Vue.

Tournament format

The 24 teams are split into six groups of four, with teams playing each other once. The top two teams in each group progress through to the quarter-finals, as do the four best third-placed teams.

From the quarter-finals onward the tournament follows the traditional knockout format.

Which teams are in it?

Aside from France, previous winners Germany, Norway will also take part as will England, who won the SheBelieves Cup earlier this year. Italy, Scotland, Spain, Sweden and the Netherlands complete the UEFA delegation.

Along with the U.S. Women's National Team (USWNT), Canada and Jamaica are the CONCACAF representatives, while Argentina, Brazil and Chile are the three CONMEBOL system. Africa is represented by Cameroon, Nigeria and South Africa, while New Zealand are the only OFC team.

Japan, winners in 2011, are one of five AFC representatives along with Australia, South Korea, China and Thailand.

U.S. Women's National Team
Tobin Heath #17 of United States gets congratulated by teammates Captain Alex Morgan #13 of United States and Megan Rapinoe #15 of United States during the 1st half of the International Friendly match the U.S. Women's National Team and Mexico as part of the Send Off Series prior to the FIFA Women's World Cup at Red Bull Arena on May 26 in Harrison, NJ, USA. The United States Women's National team won the match with a score of 3 to 0. Getty/Ira L. Black/Corbis


The schedule for the first round of games is as follows (all times ET).

Friday, June 7

  • France vs South Korea—3 p.m., FS1

Saturday, June 8

  • Germany vs China—9 a.m. FS1
  • Spain vs South Africa—12 p.m. Fox
  • Norway vs Nigeria—3 p.m. Fox

Sunday, June 9

  • Australia vs Italy—7 a.m. FS1
  • Brazil vs Jamaica—9:30 a.m. FS1
  • England vs Scotland—12 p.m. Fox

Monday, June 10

  • Argentina vs Japan—12 p.m. FS1
  • Canada vs Cameroon—3 p.m. FS1

Tuesday, June 11

  • New Zealand vs Netherlands—9 a.m. FS1
  • Chile vs Sweden—12 p.m. FS1
  • U.S. vs Thailand—3 p.m. Fox


Bookmakers are backing USWNT to defend its title in France and win an unprecedented fourth World Cup.

According to data compiled by Oddshark, Team USA is a 3/1 favorite (+300 in moneyline terms) followed by France at 7/2, while Germany and England are at 5/1 and 6/1, respectively.