4 Heisman Trophy Finalists Revealed, Winner to Be Named Saturday

A defensive lineman and three quarterbacks on Monday evening were named finalists for the 2021 Heisman Trophy. Voting ended at 6 p.m. ET Monday. The winner will be announced Saturday at 8 p.m. ET in New York City.

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young is the favorite to win the coveted trophy, which is awarded to the most outstanding college football player. Young will be in New York City for the presentation along with Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett, Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud and Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson.

Here are the four finalists (in alphabetical order):
Aidan Hutchinson, DE, Michigan
The Michigan native broke the school's single-season sack record when he had three against rival Ohio State. Hutchinson, who's the leader of the entire team, was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and finalist for every major defensive award. He helped lead the Wolverines to a Big Ten title, No. 2 ranking and their first-ever spot in the College Football Playoff.

Kenny Pickett
Kenny Pickett #8 of the Pittsburgh Panthers celebrates after a 27-17 win over the Clemson Tigers at Heinz Field on October 23, 2021 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Photo by Justin Berl/Getty Images

Kenny Pickett, QB, Pittsburgh
Pickett has passed for 4,319 yards with 43 touchdowns and only seven interceptions. He guided the Panthers to their first-ever ACC championship, and he has the team in the Peach Bowl. If he had a signature moment, it was last Saturday when, while scrambling, he faked a slide and darted 58 yards for a rushing touchdown.

C.J. Stroud, QB, Ohio State
The top star on the Buckeyes' offense completed 280 of 395 passes for 3,862 yards with 38 touchdowns and only five interceptions. He was once the Heisman frontrunner, according to oddsmakers a few weeks ago. He led Ohio State to a 10-2 record and a spot in the Rose Bowl game.

Bryce Young, QB, Alabama
Young has completed 314 of 462 passes for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns with only four interceptions. He shined brightest on the biggest stages this year. First was a 97-yard drive to send the Iron Bowl into overtime. Then in the SEC Championship game, he did it through the air and on the ground, even making an improvised pitch to his running back to keep one drive alive. He has the Tide at No. 1 and in the College Football Playoff.

Last year's winner was DaVonte Smith, a wide receiver from Alabama. He was the first receiver to win the award since Michigan's Desmond Howard in 1991, and only the third receiver to ever win the award. Notre Dame's Tim Brown won it in 1987.

If Bryce Young wins the award, it would give the Crimson Tide back-to-back winners for the first time in school history. Oklahoma was the last school to have back-to-back winners with quarterbacks Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray in 2017-18.

LSU's Joe Burrow won the award in 2019.

Heisman voters choose their top three candidates (in order), and players receive three points for first, two for second and one point for a third-place vote. Voting is comprised of 870 media members, 57 living Heisman winners and one vote from a collective fan vote. Voters are asked by the Heisman Trust to not reveal their votes until after the winner has been announced.