Sponsored Article

10 Magical Books to Read If You Like Harry Potter

If you're a Potterhead, you need to check out these books.

harry potter books jk rowling

Harry Potter is a book series that is extremely hard to move on from. Although it has already been more than two decades since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone was published, it is still a go-to series for both kids and adults alike.

If you are itching to finally venture outside of the series, whether because of recent trending issues or merely because you want to read something new, here are 10 books with similar themes to keep your Potter head and heart happy.

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

Books in the Series: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass

his dark materials books philip pullman

His Dark Materials is a coming-of-age story of two kids who wander through various parallel universes. Filled with witches and armored polar bears, this series is more than what its fantasy world has to offer, though. Getting its title from John Milton's poem Paradise Lost, it also touches on topics like theology, physics, and philosophy. The books have won several awards for a reason.

Buy the boxed set here.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Books in the Series: The Magicians, The Magician King, The Magician's Land

the magicians book lev grossman

The Magicians is an adult fantasy series that follows the life of a young man named Quentin Coldwater who discovers a secret college of magic in New York. That's right. It's like Harry Potter... but in college! There is a TV adaptation of the books now, as well as two comic books that Grossman worked on himself.

Buy the TV tie-in edition of the first book in the series here.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

Books in the Series: The Alchemyst, The Magician, The Sorceress, The Necromancer, The Warlock, The Enchantress

secrets of nicholas flamel book michael scott

If you're a Potterhead, simply reading the name Nicholas Flamel has probably already made you hear Hermione Granger's voice in your head. In the Harry Potter books, Nicholas Flamel is known to have created The Sorcerer's Stone, which the entire first book is all about. In The Alchemyst, you'll get to know more about this historical character through the lives of teenage twins Josh and Sophie Newman. While working at a bookstore during the summer, Josh witnesses the bookseller using magic. It turns out that the bookseller is the legendary alchemist himself!

Buy the boxed set here.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

the night circus book erin morgenstern

Originally written for the annual writing competition National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), The Night Circus has made quite a mark on people. This fantasy novel revolves around a wandering magical circus that only opens from sunset to sunrise. The circus is filled with magical attractions that will fill your life with wonder, but you'll soon learn that it also serves a darker purpose beyond all of the profit and entertainment.

Buy the book here.

All Souls by Deborah Harkness

Books in the Series: A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, The Book of Life

all souls book deborah harkness

If you want to mix a bit of history into the world of fantasy, read A Discovery of Witches. This book is about a science history professor named Diana Bishop who stumbles across a manuscript and is compelled to accept the magic that runs in her veins. There is a love story in this, too. And vampires. So if you liked Twilight, as well, this novel would be a double win for you. There is a TV adaptation of the books now, too.

Buy the boxed set here.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

neverwhere book neil gaiman

Also set in London where the beloved Harry Potter books are set, Neverwhere follows the life of Richard Mayhew, a businessman leading a pretty normal albeit dreary life. Things change when he helps out a bleeding young girl as magic, excitement, and fear all stumble into his life at once. A Muggle discovering magic out of nowhere? Sign us up, please!

Buy the Illustrated Edition here.

Pennyroyal Academy by MA Larson

Books in the Series: Pennyroyal Academy, The Shadow Cadets, The Warrior Princess

pennyroyal academy book ma larson

If you are also a lover of Grimm's fairytales, then you need to check out this book series. A beautiful combination of magic, adventure, and humor, Pennyroyal Academy follows the footsteps of a girl who appears at a kingdom without any recollection of what brought her there. She then joins Pennyroyal Academy, a place where knights and princesses learn to battle witches and dragons. It's basically like Harry Potter but set in Grimm's fairytale world and with more action and adventure in store.

Buy the first book in the series here.

The Uncommoners by Jennifer Bell

Books in the Series: The Crooked Sixpence, The Smoking Hourglass, The Frozen Telescope

the uncommoners book jennifer bell

In the world of The Uncommoners, you will be taken into a secret underground city below London that will remind you of all of the hidden magical nooks and crannies in the Potterverse. Some people have also compared this series to Tim Burton's works; so if you also happen to be a fan of Tim Burton, you need to check out this series stat!

Buy the first book in the series here.

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Series Titles: Children of Blood and Bone, Children of Virtue and Vengeance

children blood and bone book tomi ayedemi

Children of Blood and Bone is a planned trilogy that follows the life of Zelie Adebola, who tries to bring magic back to the kingdom of Orisha. Adeyemi has said that the Harry Potter series has inspired the book, but what makes it stand out even more is the fact that it also focuses on West African mythology and examines the themes of slavery, oppression, and racism. It even debuted at number one on The New York Times bestseller list for Young Adult books!

Buy the first book in the series here.

Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden

Books in the Series: Knights of the Borrowed Dark, The Forever Court, The Endless King

knights of borrowed dark book dave rudden

Like Harry Potter, the hero of this book series is an orphan who seems to lead a normal life... until a man appears at Crosscaper Orphanage promising to introduce him to his long-lost aunt. Instead of learning that he's a wizard, though, he finds out that he actually has a connection to an ancient order of knights!

Buy the first book in the series here.

Craving for more book recommendations?

Subscribe to Publishers Weekly to be in the know when it comes to book reviews, bestseller lists, and anything else you could possibly want to know about the publishing industry. Publishers Weekly offers news and information on your favorite authors and publishing houses with book lists that span every genre.

Don't miss out on the best books out there. Stay in the know and subscribe to Publishers Weekly today!

We may earn a commission from links on this page, but we only recommend products we back. Newsweek AMPLIFY participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites.