When is the 2019 Copa America? Dates, TV Channel, Schedule and Odds Including When Brazil, Argentina Are Playing

The race to be crowned South American champion gets underway on Friday, as Brazil takes on Bolivia in the Copa America opener.

What used to be a quadrennial tournament has occurred fairly irregularly recently, with the last edition held in the U.S. three years ago and the tournament before that held in Chile in 2015. This year's tournament will be followed by another Copa America in 12 months, as the competition switches to be held in even-numbered years.

The tournament returns to Brazil for the first time since 1989 and the Seleção have won each of the four previous Copa Americas they have hosted.

However, the hosts' excitement has been somewhat tempered before a ball has been kicked, as Neymar will miss the tournament with an ankle injury sustained against Qatar.

The Arab nation will also be involved in the Copa America as one of the two non-CONMEBOL nations to have been invited along with Japan.

Argentina, meanwhile, looks to end a drought that stretches back all the way to 1993 as Lionel Messi continues to seek an elusive first international trophy at senior level – the Olympic gold medal in 2008 remains his only success with Argentina.

Two-time defending champions Chile look ill-equipped to retain the title, while Uruguay will don the familiar clothes of perennial dark horse but face an anxious wait over Luis Suarez's fitness.

Here's everything you need to know ahead of the tournament.

Lionel Messi, Argentina, Copa America
Argentina's Lionel Messi takes part in a training session of the national team in Ezeiza, Buenos Aires, on June 5 ahead of the Copa America football tournament to be held in Brazil. Getty/Juan Mabromata/AFP

When is the Copa America?

The tournament kicks off on Saturday, June 14 and ends with the final on July 7.

Where is the Copa America?

The 46th edition of the tournament will be held in Brazil across six venues in five host cities – Rio de Janeiro, Belo Horizonte, Porto Alegre, Salvador and Sao Paulo.

The latter is the only city with two venues and the final will be held at the famous Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, which also hosted the 2014 World Cup final.

TV channel

Every game of the tournament will be available in the U.S., with ESPN+ providing coverage in English and Portuguese.

Meanwhile, Telemundo Deportes will broadcast every game in Spanish across their networks of Telemundo and Universo.

Live stream

All 26 games will be available to be streamed via ESPN+ and Telemundo digital platforms. Live streams will also be available on fuboTV, Sling Blue, Hulu Live and PlayStation Vue.

Which teams are in the Copa America?

All 10 CONMEBOL national teams - Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela - will take part in the tournament,

They will be joined by Japan and Qatar, who received an invitation to participate.

The former will return to the competition for the first time since 1999, while the latter will be the first Arab nation to play in the tournament.


The 12 teams have been divided into three groups of four, with the two top in each pool progressing to the next stage. The two highest-ranked third-placed teams will also qualify for the quarter-finals.

From the quarter-finals onward, the tournament follows the traditional knock-out stage format.


Brazil might have lost Neymar to injury but remains the bookmakers' favorite at 11/10.

Argentina is 7/2 to win a first Copa America since 1993, while Uruguay and Colombia follow at 6/1 and 8/1, respectively. Chile has won the last two tournaments but is a 10/1 outsider, while Japan and Qatar are long shots at 50/1 and 80/1.


The schedule for the first round of games is as follows (all times ET).

Friday, June 14

  • Brazil vs Bolivia 8:30 p.m., ESPN+, Telemundo

Saturday, June 15

  • Venezuela vs Peru 3 p.m., ESPN+, Telemundo
  • Argentina vs Colombia 6 p.m., ESPN+, Telemundo

Sunday, June 16

  • Paraguay vs Qatar 3 p.m., ESPN+, Telemundo
  • Uruguay vs Ecuador 6 p.m., ESPN+, Telemundo

Monday, June 17

  • Japan vs Chile 7 p.m., ESPN+, Telemundo