Nearly 99 Percent of England to Enter Tough Restrictions at End of Lockdown

The overwhelming majority of England will be in the two toughest COVID-19 tiers after a national lockdown comes to an end on December 2.

A total of 98.7 percent of the country will be under tier two or tier three restrictions, with only the Isle of Wight, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly in tier 1.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock told the House of Commons: "Regardless of your tier, I ask everyone, we must all think of our own responsibilities to keep the virus under control.

"We should see these restrictions not as a boundary to push, but as a limit on what the Public Health advice says we can safely do in any areas.

"But frankly, the less any one person passes on the disease, the faster we can get this disease under control together - and that is on all of us."

There are a total of three tiers that will be coming into force. In Tier 1, pubs, bars and restaurants will be allowed to operate table service only and must stop taking orders at 10pm, although pubs will be able to stay open until 11pm, Boris Johnson has told MPs. Indoor venues such as cinemas, theatres and bowling alleys are also allowed to stay open. The rule of six will be applicable both indoors and outdoors, allowing people from different households to see each other indoors.

In Tier 2, indoor venues can open with and social distancing and limits of 50 percent capacity or 1,000 people. Mixing with people indoors from other households is not allowed, although a maximum of six people will be allowed to meet outdoors. Pubs and bars must close unless operating as restaurants.

In Tier 3, the toughest tier, hospitality venues must close, with only delivery and takeaway allowed and there can be no mixing of households, indoors or outdoors. Only a handful of areas are expected to be in Tier 1. Chancellor Rishi Sunak told Sky News that people would see a tangible difference as the national lockdown ends on December 2.

England lockdown tiers
A three-tier system will come into force when lockdown ends Getty

He said: "Whichever tier you're in I think people will see a tangible change. That said, things are obviously not normal and I can't pretend that next week things are going to feel like they were before the spring."

London will be placed under tier two restrictions.

The three-tier system will be subjected to regular reviews and an area's tier level could change before Christmas, depending on factors such as the case detention rate, how quickly rates are rising or falling and the pressure on NHS services within the local area. The U.K. also faces a difficult economic climate, with Chancellor Rishi Sunak warning yesterday that unemployment could reach 7.5 percent by next spring, meaning 2.6 million people could be out of work.

Some sectors of the economy have urged the chancellor to provide further support, in light of the tiers that will come into force. The British Beer and Pub Association said that the lack of action to save pubs and jobs was staggering.

Emma McClarkin, chief executive of the British Beer & Pub Association, said: "It seems pubs have now been cast adrift by the Government. To save businesses and jobs the Chancellor needs to come back to the House this week and set out an enhanced package of support ahead of the new tier system coming into effect.

"Not only is the Government unfairly rendering pubs unviable or forcing many of them to stay closed this Christmas, it isn't even giving them the full financial support they need to survive. Whilst the news of a review of business rates reliefs in the New Year is a glimmer of positive news, it is not nearly enough."

Full list of restriction tiers by area:

Tier 3:

North East

Tees Valley Combined Authority




Redcar and Cleveland


North East Combined Authority:


South Tyneside


Newcastle upon Tyne

North Tyneside

County Durham


North West

Greater Manchester



Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

The Humber

West Yorkshire

South Yorkshire

West Midlands

Birmingham and Black Country

Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent

Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

Derby and Derbyshire

Nottingham and Nottinghamshire

Leicester and Leicestershire


South East

Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)

Kent and Medway

South West


South Gloucestershire

North Somerset

Tier 2:

North West


Liverpool City Region

Warrington and Cheshire



North Yorkshire

West Midlands



Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands



East of England



Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough


Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea

Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

East Sussex

West Sussex

Brighton and Hove




Bracknell Forest

Windsor and Maidenhead

West Berkshire

Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton



South West

South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor

Bath and North East Somerset






Wiltshire and Swindon


Tier 1:

South East

Isle of Wight

South West


Isles of Scilly