DC Movie Order: How To Watch DCEU Movies Chronologically

The DCEU began five years after the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) with Man of Steel, a reboot of the Superman series.

Since then it has released a number of movies as well as spin-offs, with more movies planned.

Like with Marvel, the DCEU focuses on superheroes from Batman to The Suicide Squad, though movies such as Aquaman and Wonder Woman have been the stand-out successes thus far.

The timeline for the DCEU is a little difficult to settle on, as some of the movies jump around through time.

Some prefer to watch the movies in the order they were released, rather than opting for the more complicated route of working out the chronology.

So, we've broken down both ways to watch the movies.

How To Watch DCEU Movies Chronologically

1 of 4

Here is the chronological order for the DCEU movies:

  • Wonder Woman
  • Wonder Woman 1984
  • Man of Steel
  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
  • Suicide Squad
  • Birds of Prey
  • Justice League/Zack Snyder's Justice League
  • Aquaman
  • Shazam!

Of course, there are moments within each film which hark back to a different time, meaning certain scenes could sit outside of this timeline.

For example, the beginning and ending scenes in Wonder Woman show her in a completely different time to the rest of the film, as does Wonder Woman 1984, which shows her as a child.

Similarly, Aquaman begins with origins, which would mean the opening scene technically falls earlier in the timeline.

However, in general, the first Wonder Woman is set during World War I, while the second is in the 1980s.

After that, Man of Steel is set when it was made, in 2013, and Batman v Superman followed on.

Suicide Squad came next, after which Birds of Prey followed, focusing on Harley Quinn (played by Margot Robbie) after she and the Joker (Jared Leto) broke up.

Justice League came after this, after which Aquaman's story became the focus.

Aquaman also felt like an origin story, as it showed the different parts of his life, from being a human to a sea king.

Shazam! followed, and was until this point uninvolved in previous movies.

The upcoming movie, The Suicide Squad, follows Harley Quinn and many new friends on a mission, despite them all coming from prison.

Director James Gunn told We Got This Covered the new movie takes place in the year it is released, meaning it will follow in the chronological timeline.

How To Watch The DCEU Movies By Release Date

For those wanting to watch the movies by their release, here is the breakdown of the order:

  • Man of Steel (2013)
  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016)
  • Suicide Squad (2016)
  • Wonder Woman (2017)
  • Justice League (2017)
  • Aquaman (2018)
  • Shazam! (2019)
  • Birds of Prey (2020)
  • Wonder Woman 1984 (2020)
  • Zack Snyder's Justice League (2021)

Zack Snyder's Justice League is a controversial film, as technically it is not in the official canon, despite being a slightly different version of the 2017 movie.

As a result, some would leave this out, or even swap the 2017 movie for the 2021 version, which received far better reviews.

As for the upcoming movies, there are two in 2021 and another three expected for the following year.

Here is the release order for the upcoming movies, though their chronological order on the DCEU timeline is uncertain at this time.

  • The Suicide Squad (2021)
  • Black Adam (2021)
  • The Flash (2022)
  • Shazam 2 (2022)
  • Aquaman 2 (2022)