'Devil May Cry 5' Difficulty Modes: Why You Should Start on Devil Hunter

There are numerous difficulty modes in Devil May Cry 5, but from the beginning only two are available. Eventually, it's possible unlock a total of six different difficulty types: Human, Devil Hunter, Son of Sparda, Dante Must Die, Heaven and Hell, Hell and Hell.

Start With: Devil May Cry 5 Devil Hunter Difficulty Mode

Devil May Cry 5 is a demanding, combo-intensive game, even on its most basic difficulty mode, called simply Human (in a game world where demons spear and tear human bystanders right and left, it's an insult). But there are harder realms than Human, beginning with the other available difficulty level when you first start playing Devil May Cry 5: Devil Hunter. It's a better pick from the beginning, even if you're not looking for a controller-smashing challenge on your playthrough.

Here's why: you can change it later and you'll want to play Devil Hunter in the early campaign missions. The difficulty in Devil May Cry 5 eventually ramps up, but you'll want to push as far as you can on Devil Hunter first, because more durable enemies are the best way to get used to the rhythmic application of different attacks. Especially in the first handful of missions, it can be tough to get enough practice time with enemies while playing on the Human difficulty mode—they simply die too quickly. In Human mode, demons have the lowest health and do the least damage.

Newsweek subscription offers >

In Devil Hunter, enemies have roughly twice as much health. Devil May Cry 5 is, in some ways, more about the application of rad combos than overcoming unstoppable enemies. The generous health bar provides a lot of cushion early on, giving you room to improve.

There's also a practical, in-game reason to prefer the Devil Hunter difficulty mode: it unlocks Human mode missions in its wake. While beating a mission on Human doesn't unlock Devil Hunter, beating a mission on Devil Hunter gives you the option to go back and play it (and every previous unlocked mission) on Human as well.

"Devil May Cry 5" uses the same RE Engine as the "Resident Evil 2" remake. Capcom

How To Change the Difficulty in Devil May Cry 5

Newsweek subscription offers >

Difficulty isn't something you change on the fly in Devil May Cry 5. Instead, missions are unlocked in different difficulty tiers available from the Mission Select screen on the Main Menu. That means there's no changing the difficulty from within the Pause menu while playing. Instead, you'll have to quit the mission and return to the mission select screen.

Up top, selectable by R1 and R2 on the PS4, are the different available missions for each category of difficulty mode.

Devil May Cry 5 Difficulty Modes

Up the difficulty for tougher enemies. Capcom

After Human and Devil Hunter, there are tougher challenges ahead in Devil May Cry 5, beginning with Son of Sparda, unlocked after beating every mission on Devil Hunter difficulty. Enemies are way tougher in Son of Sparda and different types of enemies will spawn in earlier missions. In this mode, combat encounters are radically retweaked, even the bosses employ some new moves.

Beat Son of Sparda and you unlock one of Devil May Cry 5 's supreme challenges: Dante Must Die difficulty.

There are two more difficulty modes beyond Dante Must Die, but they're less about scaled up enemies and more about changing the fundamental rules of the game. In Heaven and Hell—unlocked alongside Dante Must Die after beating Son of Sparda—everything dies after just one hit , including you. In Hell and Hell mode, you die in one hit, but the enemies are as tough as they were in Son of Sparda. To make things worse, your revives are limited, so only get three shots at the mission. Oh, and there are no checkpoints.

Devil May Cry 5 is out now for PS4, Xbox and PC.

'Devil May Cry 5' Difficulty Modes: Why You Should Start on Devil Hunter | Gaming