Full List of Republicans Who Voted Against Honoring Police After Capitol Riot

Twelve Republican members of the House voted against a resolution on Wednesday to honor police for their actions during the deadly riot at the Capitol on January 6.

The gold medal is Congress' "highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions" and the House approved the proposal to award it to police by 413 votes to 12.

The 12 "no" votes were Louie Gohmert, Michael Cloud and Lance Gooden of Texas; Marjorie Taylor Greene and Andrew Clyde of Georgia; Matt Gaetz and Greg Steube of Florida; Andy Biggs of Arizona; Thomas Massie of Kentucky; Andy Harris of Maryland; Bob Good of Virginia and John Rose of Tennessee.

Two of the Texas representatives who opposed the move, Gohmert and Cloud, cited the language of the resolution introduced by Speaker Nancy Pelosi.

Gohmert had circulated an alternative resolution on Wednesday. His version did not refer to the Capitol riot and merely described three police officers as having "passed in January 2021."

Officer Brian Sicknick died from injuries sustained during the violence on January 6, while Officers Howard Liebengood and Jeffrey Smith took their own lives in the days after the riot.

Gohmert explained his decision in a statement issued before the vote, according to The Texas Tribune.

"HR 1085 does not honor anyone, but rather seeks to drive a narrative that isn't substantiated by known facts," he said. "We absolutely do want to show our gratitude and respect for the U.S. Capitol Police, so I removed the Speaker's false and politicized narrative in order to arrive at legislation that truly honors those who selflessly serve us in Congress."

Cloud said in a statement: "I have always stood by and supported our brave law enforcement and still do, but this bill was not truly about that despite its name.

"Instead of simply being about honoring the Capitol Police who bravely protected the Capitol on January 6th, Speaker Pelosi included damaging language that unnecessarily weighs down the bill. The text refers to the Capitol as the temple of democracy—simply put, it's not a temple and Congress should not refer to it as one. The federal government is not a god."

Rep. Gooden had not issued a statement on his vote as of Thursday morning.

"It's just offensive that we literally log-rolled recognition of the Capitol Police," Rep. Gaetz told reporters. "We had to combine it with these editorial comments about the January 6 sequence of events [...] That was a little much for me."

Rep. Massie of Kentucky said: "I have a problem with the term 'insurrection.' It could have implications for somebody's prosecution."

The resolution, crafted by Pelosi, read in part: "On January 6, 2021, a mob of insurrectionists forced its way into the U.S. Capitol building and congressional office buildings and engaged in acts of vandalism, looting, and violently attacked Capitol Police officers."

"The sacrifice of heroes including Capitol Police Officers Brian Sicknick and Howard Liebengood, Metropolitan Police Department Officer Jeffrey Smith, and those who sustained injuries, and the courage of Capitol Police Officer Eugene Goodman exemplify the patriotism and the commitment of Capitol Police officers, and those of other law enforcement agencies, to risk their lives in service of our country."

Texas Representative Louie Gohmert
Rep. Louie Gohmert of Texas speaks outside the U.S. Capitol on March 17. He is one of 12 Republicans to vote against a resolution honoring Capitol police. Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images