When Is the 2019 Gold Cup? When Are the U.S. and Mexico Playing, Dates, TV Channel, Schedule and Odds

The 15th edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup gets underway this weekend as the U.S. men's national team (USMNT) looks to defend the trophy it won two years ago.

For the first since its inception in 1991, 16 teams will take part in the tournament. CONCACAF unveiled a revamped format in February last year.

While it's unlikely to see the U.S.A.-Mexico duopoly being broken—except from Canada's solitary triumph in 2000 no other team has won the Gold Cup—there are talking points aplenty ahead of the tournament.

USMNT has not defended the title since it won back-to-back editions in 2005 and 2007. Elsewhere, Mexico might be a favorite but is in a state of flux after failing at the round of 16 of the World Cup last year for the seventh consecutive time.

Off the field, meanwhile, this year's Gold Cup makes history as it marks the first time games are held in a country other than the U.S., Mexico or Canada.

Here's everything you need to know ahead of the tournament.

When is the Gold Cup?

The tournament kicks off on Saturday, June 15 and ends with the final on July 7.

Where is the Gold Cup?

The 15th edition of the Gold Cup takes place across the U.S., as well as Costa Rica and Jamaica.

The latter will host two games each in San Jose and Kingston, respectively, marking the first time Gold Cup matches will be held in Central America and in the Caribbean.

The U.S., meanwhile will host all the remaining fixtures across 15 venues in 14 host cities—Pasadena, Denver, Charlotte, Nashville, Philadelphia, Houston, Cleveland, Los Angeles, Frisco, Saint Paul, Kansas City, Harrison and Chicago.

Houston is the only city with two venues, while Chicago's Soldier Field will host the final.

USMNT, Gold Cup
Fans cheer on the USMNT against Chile in a friendly soccer match at BBVA Compass Stadium on March 26 in Houston, Texas. Getty/Bob Levey

TV channel

Every game of the tournament will be available in the U.S., with FOX Sports 1 and FOX Sports 2 broadcasting coverage in English.

All 31 games will be broadcast in Spanish across Univision, UniMas and Univision Deportes.

Live stream

All the games will also be available on FOX Sports' and Univision digital platforms. Live streams will also be available on fuboTV, Sling Blue, Hulu Live and PlayStation Vue.

Which teams are in the Gold Cup?

Sixteen teams have qualified for the Gold Cup. Aside from USMNT, 10-time winners Mexico, Costa Rica and Canada will take part, as will Jamaica.

Martinique, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Panama, Curacao and Honduras have also qualified for the tournament, while Cuba, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago make their first appearance since 2015.

Bermuda and Guyana, meanwhile, will be making their debut at the tournament.

Tournament format

The 16 nations have been split into four groups of four, with each team playing each other once and the top two in each group qualifying for the quarter-finals.

From the quarter-finals onward, the tournament follows the traditional knock-out stage format.

The list is in. 🗒

Here is the 23-player squad that will represent the 🇺🇸 in the 2019 @GoldCup. 🏆

— U.S. Soccer MNT (@USMNT) June 6, 2019


Bar Canada's moment of glory at the turn of the millennium, no other teams apart from the U.S. and Mexico have won the tournament. The bookmakers expect the trend to continue.

El Tri is a 27/20 favorite to lift the trophy for the 11th time, followed by USMNT at 7/5.

Meanwhile, fellow co-hosts Costa Rica and Jamaica are 11/2 and 12/1 outsiders, respectively.


The schedule for the first round of games is as follows (all times ET).

Saturday, June 15

  • Canada vs Martinique—7:30 p.m. FS2, Univision, Univision Deportes Network
  • Mexico vs Cuba—10 p.m. FS2, Univision, Univision Deportes Network

Sunday, June 16

  • Haiti vs Bermuda—4 p.m. FS2, Univision, Univision Deportes Network
  • Costa Rica vs Nicaragua—8:30 p.m. FS1, Univision, Univision Deportes Network

Monday, June 17

  • Curacao vs El Salvador—7 p.m. FS1, Univision Deportes Network
  • Jamaica vs Honduras—9:30 p.m, FS1, UniMas, Univision Deportes Network

Tuesday, June 18

  • Panama vs Trinidad and Tobago—7:30 p.m., FS1, UniMas, Univision Deportes Network
  • USA vs Guyana—10 p.m., FS1, Unimas, Univision Deportes Network