How To Delete Facebook: Deactivating Your Account Explained

Facebook
The Facebook logo. On Monday, Facebook said it will begin to inform users whether their information was used by Cambridge Analytica. REUTERS/Dado Ruvic

Deactivating your Facebook account is easy. It leaves you with the option of reactivating if you change your mind in the future. You can also permanently delete your account if you want.

This simple guide will tell you how to do both.

Facebook
The Facebook logo. On Monday, Facebook said it will begin to inform users whether their information was used by Cambridge Analytica. REUTERS/Dado Ruvic

How to deactivate your Facebook account on desktop

  1. On a desktop computer, log in to your Facebook account.
  2. In the top right-hand corner is a small arrow pointing downwards, next to the "Quick Help" button, which is a circle with a question mark in it. Click that arrow.
  3. When the drop down menu appears, click on settings.
  4. On the General Account Settings page, click "Edit" on the "Manage account" section.
  5. Click the link that says "deactivate your account".
  6. Enter your password.
  7. Click on a reason for deactivating, or enter your own in the "other" box.
  8. Click the "deactivate" button.

How to deactivate your Facebook account on mobile device

If you are using a mobile device, you can deactivate your account through the browser or Facebook app by following these steps.

  1. Open Facebook on your phone.
  2. Tap the menu button with three horizontal lines.
  3. Keep scrolling until you see "Account settings", then tap it.
  4. Tap "General".
  5. Tap "Manage account".
  6. Tap "Deactivate" and follow the same procedure as steps 6-8 for deactivating on a desktop.

However, if you decide that you want to permanently delete your account…

How to delete your Facebook account

Once you permanently delete your Facebook account, it's gone forever.

Facebook gives you the option to save your data before you do this, including posts and photos. It's worth considering.

You can save your Facebook data by going to the General Account Settings page, as per the above instructions, clicking "Manage account", then the link right at the bottom which says "Download a copy of your Facebook data". Click "Start My Archive" to get going.

To permanently delete your account, you can request deletion through Facebook's Delete Account page. Just click the link and follow the instructions.

How To Delete Facebook: Deactivating Your Account Explained | Tech & Science
{{label}}
{{title}}
EDITOR'S PICK