Hurricane Florence School Closings List: South Carolina, North Carolina, Other States Prepare For Storm

As parts of the eastern seaboard brace for the possibility of a walloping by Hurricane Florence, some counties have canceled school in the coming days. North and South Carolina, in addition to Maryland and Virginia, declared states of emergency, while South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster announced the closure of public schools in 26 counties.

Florence was upgraded to a Category 4 storm on Monday, while the National Hurricane Center said it continued to strengthen as it churned in the Atlantic. The storm was packing winds of 140 mph as it moved west-northwest.

Newsweek has compiled a running list of schools closed in multiple states as preparation for Florence gets underway.

South Carolina

South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster issued a mandatory evacuation order for the entire coast of the state, in addition to the closure of public schools and state offices in 26 counties.

"Some schools in the inland counties will be used as shelters, some school busses [sic] will be needed to assist in evacuation efforts, and we want to keep the roads as clear as possible for the one million evacuees we are expecting," McMaster said.

As per the order, public schools in the following counties will be closed on Tuesday until further notice: Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Beaufort, Barnwell, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Lexington, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg.

Some colleges and universities were also ordered to be closed starting Tuesday through the passage of the storm, including Florence Darlington Technical College, Horry Georgetown Technical College, Francis Marion University and Coastal Carolina University.

Governor @henrymcmaster has ordered the closure of schools in 26 counties beginning Tuesday, September 11 due to Hurricane #Florence.

Follow @SCEMD and visit for updates. #SCTweets

— S.C. Department of Education (@EducationSC) September 10, 2018

North Carolina

Some school districts in North Carolina said they were monitoring Florence's approach to determine whether they would hold classes in the coming days. Dare County Schools and Currituck County School District confirmed classes were canceled beginning Tuesday through the rest of the week. Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools announced they would be closed beginning Wednesday through Friday.

Elizabeth City State University and Chowan University said classes would be canceled, beginning at noon Tuesday and 5 p.m. Tuesday, respectively.


As Virginia Governor Ralph Northam issued mandatory evacuation orders for low-lying areas in the state, some schools announced classes would be canceled in preparation for the hurricane. In Norfolk, Norfolk Public Schools, Norfolk State University and Old Dominion University canceled classes starting Tuesday. Chesapeake Public SChools, Portsmouth Public Schools, Tidewater Comunity College, Virginia Beach Public Schools and Virginia Wesleyan University also announced closures. A full list of classes cancelations and dates can be found at The Virginian-Pilot.

This is a developing story and will be updated as more information becomes available.

Hurricane Florence SChool Closings
In this NOAA satellite handout image, Hurricane Florence is shown as it travels west and gains strength in the Atlantic Ocean southeast of Bermuda on September 10, 2018. NOAA via Getty Images