'Madden NFL 21' Rookie Ratings: Who Are the Top Rated Players This Year?

Perhaps it's the lack of live sport caused by the novel coronavirus pandemic or perhaps the uncertainty surrounding the upcoming NFL season, but when Madden NFL 21 ratings were first published this week they were met with an even bigger fanfare than usual.

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback and reigning Super Bowl champion Patrick Mahomes has joined the exclusive 99 club—so called because 99 is the highest overall rating available in the game—along with Carolina Panthers running back Christian McCaffrey, Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald and New England Patriots cornerback Stephon Gilmore.

EA Sports, however, has indicated the quartet aren't the only players to receive the highest possible rating in this year's version of the popular franchise.

Joe Burrow and Henry Ruggs III are the highest-rated rookies in the game so far and while EA Sports has so far only released the ratings for rookie quarterbacks and wide receivers, the duo are unlikely to be dethroned.

Burrow was selected by the Cincinnati Bengals with the first overall pick at the NFL Draft in April after a season in which he took college football by storm, steering LSU to a perfect 15-0 record and the national title and winning the Heisman Trophy by a landslide.

He became the first player in SEC history to throw for at least 4,000 yards and 40 touchdowns in the same season and setting a new school and conference record with 5,671 yards and 60 touchdowns.

With a 76 rating, Burrow is the highest-rated rookie quarterback, ahead of former Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, who was selected with the fifth overall pick by the Miami Dolphins and has a 73 rating.

Jordan Love, Aaron Rodgers' new understudy in Green Bay has a 71 overall rating, followed by Los Angeles Chargers quarterback and sixth overall pick Justin Herbert, who has a 70 rating.

Jalen Hurts, who led Oklahoma to the College Football Playoff semifinal last season, rounds up the top five with a 68 overall rating.

Meanwhile, after becoming the first wide receiver selected in the NFL draft in April, Las Vegas Raiders wideout Henry Ruggs III is the highest-rated rookie receiver with a 76 rating.

Ruggs, who had 40 receptions for 746 receiving yards and seven receiving touchdowns in his junior at Alabama, is followed by CeeDee Lamb and by his former teammate Jerry Jeudy, who both have a 75 rating.

A star at Oklahoma, Lamb was selected with the 17th overall pick by the Dallas Cowboys, while Jeudy was picked two spots earlier by the Denver Broncos.

Top 10 rookie quarterbacks

  1. Joe Burrow—Cincinnati Bengals, 76
  2. Tua Tagovailoa—Miami Dolphins, 73
  3. Jordan Love—Green Bay Packers, 71
  4. Justin Herbert—Los Angeles Chargers, 70
  5. Jalen Hurts—Philadelphia Eagles, 68
  6. Jacob Eason—Indianapolis Colts, 63
  7. Jake Fromm—Buffalo Bills, 62
  8. Cole McDonald—Tennessee Titans, 60
  9. James Morgan—New York Jets, 60
  10. Jake Luton—Jacksonville Jaguars, 59

Top 10 rookie wide receivers

  1. Henry Ruggs III—Las Vegas Raiders, 76
  2. CeeDee Lamb—Dallas Cowboys, 75
  3. Jerry Jeudy—Denver Broncos, 75
  4. Justin Jefferson—Minnesota Vikings, 74
  5. Jalen Reagor—Philadelphia Eagles, 73
  6. Brandon Aiyuk—San Francisco 49ers, 72
  7. Laviska Shenault Jr.—Jacksonville Jaguars, 72
  8. Devin Duvernay—Baltimore Ravens, 71
  9. Michael Pittman Jr.—Indianapolis Colts, 71
  10. Tee Higgins—Cincinnati Bengals, 70

According to EA Sports, Madden NFL 21 is slated for worldwide release on August 28 for PS4, Xbox One, PC and Google Stadia.

However, Madden NFL 21 will be available on August 21 for those with EA Access, Origin Access or Origin Access Premier. Members of EA Access for PlayStation 4 or Xbox One or those in possession of a Basic membership for Origin Access on PC will get up to 10 hours of game time with the Play First Trial.

Meanwhile, those who purchase either the Deluxe or the MVP version of the game will have access to it on August 25.

Joe Burrow, LSU Tigers
Joe Burrow #9, head coach Ed Oregon and Grant Delpit #7 of the LSU Tigers receive the trophy after defeating the Clemson Tigers during the College Football Playoff National Championship held at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on January 13 in New Orleans, Louisiana. LSU defeated Clemson 42-25 for the national title. Jamie Schwaberow/Getty