Is There Mail on Columbus Day? USPS, UPS and FedEx Delivery Schedule and Hours

Today is Columbus Day, a federal holiday observed across the U.S. The day was established to celebrate Christopher Columbus, who for many years Americans were taught discovered the country.

However, numerous cities and states across the U.S. are replacing Columbus Day with Indigenous Peoples' Day, which commemorates Native Americans instead. Columbus Day is slowly being replaced with many celebrating the state holiday as Indigenous People's Day.

Nevertheless, the second Monday in October is a federal holiday no matter what the states observe. This, of course, has implications for federal services like banks and mail.

Is there mail on Columbus Day?

The U.S. Post Office will not deliver mail on Columbus Day. Post offices will also be closed. The U.S. Post Office will also be closed on other federal holidays coming up, such as Veterans Day on November 11, Thanksgiving Day on November 28, and Christmas Day on December 25, according to the USPS website.

If you're planning on sending or receiving mail around this time, make sure to consider the U.S. Post Office closure. The post office will open as usual on October 15.

USPS mail service. Getty

Do UPS and FedEx deliver on Columbus Day?

While UPS observes some national holidays such as Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day, it does not observe Columbus Day. Therefore, all UPS services will be available across the U.S. on October 14, according to the UPS website.

Similarly to UPS, FedEx observes major U.S. holidays. However, FedEx does not observe Columbus Day and its services will be available across all locations on October 14. However, FedEx Express and FedEx SmartPost will provide a modified service, such as "early on-call and drop box pickups in some areas" or "deliveries may be delayed due to USPS observation of the holiday," according to the FedEx website.

Top Columbus Day Facts

  • Columbus Day was unofficially celebrated in the 18th century but became a federal holiday in 1937, according to
  • Christopher Columbus intended to set sail for Asia but landed in the Bahamas on October 12, 1492, also according to
  • In 1977, the UN International Conference on Discrimination against Indigenous Populations in the Americas proposed replacing Columbus Day with Indigenous People's Day, according to the Smithsonian.
  • Seven states observe Indigenous People's Day, according to CNN. They are Vermont, Maine, New Mexico, Alaska, South Dakota, Oregon, and Hawaii.
  • More than 60 cities across the U.S. don't observe Columbus Day and some celebrate Indigenous Peoples' Day in its place, also according to CNN. Those major cities include Phoenix, Arizona, Cambridge, Massachusetts, and ironically, Columbus, Ohio.
Is There Mail on Columbus Day? USPS, UPS and FedEx Delivery Schedule and Hours | U.S.