October Full Moon: Meaning Behind Full Hunter's Moon, Everything You Need to Know

Look to the skies this evening and you are likely to catch a glimpse of "Hunter's Moon." While it will appear on October 24, experts say it should be visible for multiple nights.

Full moons have been given many names, with some originating as seasonal markers for Native Americans, according to The Old Farmer's Almanac, a reference book of astronomical data and folklore. Hunter's Moon will be the first full appearance since last month's Harvest Moon.

"The Algonquin Native American tribes referred to October's Moon as the Full Hunter's Moon because [it was] time to go hunting in preparation for winter," The Old Farmer's Almanac reported. "Since the harvesters have reaped the fields, hunters can easily see the fattened deer and other animals that have come out to glean (and the foxes that have come out to prey on them)."

The earliest use of the term "Hunter's Moon" is from 1710, and other Native American tribes called the full moon the "Travel Moon" and the "Dying Grass Moon," the publication said.

According to EarthSky, Hunter's Moon is special because it rises in the early evening and will do so for multiple days. And thanks to an optical illusion—it may have a striking appearance.

American meteorologist Wesley Williams explained in a Facebook video posted on Tuesday that "when it rises it may appear quite large and quite orange on the horizon."

"Don't be alarmed; it is just the moon illusion," he said, describing it as "an optical illusion which causes the moon to appear larger near the horizon than it does higher up in the sky."

Yet as EarthSky noted, it is "just an ordinary full moon with a special path across our sky."

EarthSky reported that in the U.S., full Hunter's Moon will be visible from 12:45 p.m. (EDT), 11:45 a.m. (CDT), 10:45 a.m. (MDT), 9:45 a.m. (PDT), 8:45 a.m. and 6:45 a.m. (HST).

To see when the moon is visible near you, check this online Lunar Calendar.

The next full Moon—"Beaver Moon"—will take place on November 23, according to NASA. It was known under that name by the Algonquin tribes and colonial Americans because it was the month to set beaver traps before the swamps froze over, The Old Farmer's Almanac noted.

Following that is "Cold Moon," which will occur on December 22. Perhaps unsurprisingly, the name's origins are fitting for that time of year, when the nights become dark and gloomy. The "Cold Moon" was known as the "Long Nights Moon" by other Native American tribes.

October Full Moon: Meaning Behind Full Hunter's Moon, Everything You Need to Know | Tech & Science