Patrick Mahomes Pulled Off a Super Bowl Feat Sunday That Has Never Happened in 54 Seasons

Patrick Mahomes by now has become a household name among football fans in America. The young man from East Texas played high school football in the Lone Star State, and before the last two seasons, he probably could have somewhat gotten lost in a Who's Who of Texas quarterbacks.

From Davey O'Brien to Johnny Manziel, and from Andre Ware to Robert Griffin III, Mahomes on Sunday did something never accomplished in the football-rich state.

Mahomes became the first quarterback from a Texas college or university to win a Super Bowl as a starting quarterback.

From Port Arthur to El Paso and Amarillo to the Rio Grande Valley, that's quite a mind-boggling accomplishment that took more than half a century to do.

Mahomes, who went to Whitehouse High, played his college ball at Texas Tech. Somehow through a long line of famous quarterbacks in Texas, Mahomes is the only Super Bowl-winning quarterback to play college ball in Texas.

Patrick Mahomes
Patrick Mahomes #15 of the Kansas City Chiefs celebrates after defeating San Francisco 49ers 31-20 in Super Bowl LIV at Hard Rock Stadium on February 02, 2020 in Miami, Florida. Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

For clarification, there have been two recent quarterbacks who played their high school ball in Texas, but went on to play college football in another state. Ironically, both of those quarterbacks—Drew Brees and Nick Foles—went to the same high school (Austin's Westlake High). Of course, they played for the Chaparrals in different decades.

Brees played college ball at Purdue and Foles played at Arizona.

Mahomes defeated Ryan Tannehill and the Tennessee Titans in the AFC Championship to make the Super Bowl. Tannehill played at Big Spring High School in Texas before going on to Texas A&M.

The last two Heisman Trophy-winning quarterbacks who played high school football in Texas—Baker Mayfield of Austin's Lake Travis High and Kyler Murray of Allen High School—both finished their careers at Oklahoma, but started their journeys at Texas universities before transferring. Mayfield played at Texas Tech and Murray went to A&M.

The 2019 Heisman runner-up, Jalen Hurts, also played high school ball in Channelview, Texas, before going to Alabama for three years and also finishing his career at Oklahoma.

As for the University of Texas, Colt McCoy played his college ball there and was last seen on the Washington Redskins roster, and Vince Young is retired. Cam Newton played a year of ball at Blinn College in Brenham, Texas, before winning the Heisman Trophy at Auburn University. Newton took the Carolina Panthers to the big game, but he did not win the Super Bowl.

Mahomes on Sunday not only became the first quarterback from a Texas college to win a Super Bowl as the starter, he also won the MVP in an unforgettable way. He led the Kansas City Chiefs back from a 20-10 deficit in the fourth quarter and rallied his team to a 31-20 win over the San Francisco 49ers.

The most Super Bowl wins by quarterbacks from colleges in one state come from both California and Indiana, which have nine apiece.

Joe Montana (Notre Dame) won four Super Bowls with the San Francisco 49ers, Bob Griese (Purdue) won two titles with the Miami Dolphins, Brees (Purdue) won a title with the New Orleans Saints, Len Dawson (Purdue) won it with the Chiefs and Joe Theisman (Notre Dame) won a Super Bowl with the Washington Redskins.

California college quarterbacks have also won nine Super Bowls, with Troy Aikman's (UCLA) three Super Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys leading the way. Jim Plunkett (Stanford) won two Super Bowls with the Raiders, John Elway (Stanford) had two titles in Denver, Trent Dilfer (Fresno State) won a championship with the Baltimore Ravens and Aaron Rodgers (Cal) won a Super Bowl with Green Bay.

Tom Brady has six Super Bowl wins, which represent all six from the state of Michigan, where he played for the Wolverines. Here are the Super Bowl-winning quarterbacks and where they played football in college.

6 — Tom Brady (Michigan)
4 — Terry Bradshaw (La Tech)
4 — Joe Montana (Notre Dame)
3 — Troy Aikman (UCLA/Oklahoma)
2 — John Elway (Stanford)
2 — Bob Griese (Purdue)
2 — Eli Manning (Ole Miss)
2 — Peyton Manning (Tennessee)
2 — Jim Plunkett (Stanford)
2 — Ben Roethlisberger (Miami, Ohio)
2 — Bart Starr (Alabama)
2 — Roger Staubach (Navy)
1 — Drew Brees (Purdue)
1 — Len Dawson (Purdue)
1 — Trent Dilfer (Fresno State)
1 — Brett Favre (Southern Miss)
1 — Joe Flacco (Delaware)
1 — Nick Foles (Arizona)
1 — Jeff Hostetler (West Virginia)
1 — Brad Johnson (Florida State)
1 — Patrick Mahomes (Texas Tech)
1 — Jim McMahon (BYU)
1 — Joe Namath (Alabama)
1 — Aaron Rodgers (Cal)
1 — Mark Rypien (Washington State)
1 — Phil Simms (Morehead State)
1 — Ken Stabler (Alabama)
1 — Joe Theisman (Notre Dame)
1 — Johnny Unitas (Louisville)
1 — Kurt Warner (Northern Iowa)
1 — Doug Williams (Grambling)
1 — Russell WIlson (NC State/Wisconsin)
1 — Steve Young (BYU)

Patrick Mahomes Pulled Off a Super Bowl Feat Sunday That Has Never Happened in 54 Seasons | Sports