Phil Mickelson, Brooks Koepka Draw Final Pairing at PGA Championship on Sunday

American golfer Phil Mickelson got one step closer to becoming the oldest player to ever win a major championship. Lefty, as he known by so many, is leading the PGA Championship after three rounds.

Mickelson is 7-under par through 54 holes, and he enters the final round at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island (S.C) Golf Resort paired with American Brooks Koepka, who is one shot back at 6-under par.

Mickelson entered Saturday tied for the lead at 5-under par with South African Louis Oosthuizen. Mickelson blistered the front nine of the third round, sinking four birdies and five for par to get a four-shot lead over four players. Lefty missed an eagle by just a few inches that would have sent him to -10. However, he reached -10 on the 10th hole.

Things went sour for Mickelson with a bogey on 12 and double-bogey on 13, dropping him to -7, just one stroke ahead of Koepka. Koepka then went to 7-under and a tie for first by sinking a birdie on the par-5 16th, which is a monster at 608 yards.

Both Americans made par at the 17th, with Mickelson narrowly missing a birdie that would have given him the lead with one hole remaining. Oosthuizen bogeyed the 17th to fall back to 5-under for the tournament.

Koepka bogeyed on the 18th to finish at 6-under par while Mickelson made par on a 5-foot putt. Oosthuizen had a chance for a long birdie to tie Koepka, but it came up just short.

Phil Mickelson
Phil Mickelson of the United States reacts on the fourth hole during the third round of the 2021 PGA Championship at Kiawah Island Resort's Ocean Course on May 22, 2021 in Kiawah Island, South Carolina. Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Mickelson and Koepka are now paired together Sunday for the championship. Koepka has won four majors, including two of the last three PGA Championships (2018, 2019). He also has twice won the U.S. Open (2017, 2018) and finished runner-up at the 2019 Masters.

Mickelson, 50, has won five major titles, including the PGA Championship in 2005. He's won the Masters three times (2004, 2006, 2010) and the Open Championship in 2013.

Should Mickelson win on Sunday, he would become the oldest golfer to ever win a major championship, passing Julius Boros, who won the 1968 PGA Championship at age 48 years, 4 months and 18 days. Jack Nicklaus is third on that list for winning the 1986 Masters at 46 years, 2 months and 23 days. Tom Morris (46 years, 3 months, 10 days) is second with the 1867 Open Championship.

Here are the Sunday pairings and tee times for PGA Championship 2021:

(All times ET)
7:30 a.m. – Brian Gay
7:40 a.m. – Rasmus Hojgaard, Garrick Higgo
7:50 a.m. – Lucas Herbert, Brendan Steele
8:00 a.m. – Henrik Stenson, Byeong Hun An
8:10 a.m. – Adam Hadwin, Brad Marek
8:20 a.m. – Matt Wallace, Harris English
8:30 a.m. – Robert Streb, Cam Davis
8:40 a.m. – Bubba Watson, Tom Hoge
8:50 a.m. – Jimmy Walker, Abraham Ancer
9:00 a.m. – Russell Henley, Daniel Berger
9:10 a.m. – Dean Burmester, Matt Jones
9:20 a.m. – Sam Horsfield, Danny Willett
9:30 a.m. – Tom Lewis, Chan Kim
9:40 a.m. – Rory McIlroy, Stewart Cink
9:50 a.m. – Jason Day, Wyndham Clark
10:10 a.m. – Denny McCarthy, Emiliano Grillo
10:20 a.m. – Justin Rose, Lee Westwood
10:30 a.m. – Jason Scrivener, Robert MacIntyre
10:40 a.m. – Harold Varner III, Aaron Wise
10:50 a.m. – Daniel van Tonder, Viktor Hovland
11:00 a.m. – Tyrrell Hatton, Collin Morikawa
11:10 a.m. – Talor Gooch, Jon Rahm
11:20 a.m. – Cameron Smith, Alex Noren
11:30 a.m. – Patrick Reed, Carlos Ortiz
11:40 a.m. – Webb Simpson, Ben Cook
11:50 a.m. – Martin Laird, Hideki Matsuyama
12:00 p.m. – Shane Lowry, Padraig Harrington
12:10 p.m. – Will Zalatoris, Ian Poulte
12:20 p.m. – Steve Stricker, Scottie Scheffler
12:30 p.m. – Billy Horschel, Joel Dahmen
12:40 p.m. – Harry Higgs, Richy Werenski
12:50 p.m. – Charley Hoffman, Jason Kokrak
1:00 p.m. – Keegan Bradley, Matt Fitzpatrick
1:10 p.m. – Tony Finau, Patrick Cantlay
1:20 p.m. – Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler
1:40 p.m. – Sungjae Im, Corey Conners
1:50 p.m. – Gary Woodland, Paul Casey
2:00 p.m. – Bryson DeChambeau, Joaquin Niemann
2:10 p.m. – Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Branden Grace
2:20 p.m. – Louis Oosthuizen, Kevin Streelman
2:30 p.m. – Phil Mickelson, Brooks Koepka