'Pokémon Go' Raid Boss Update: Fighting Types Added During Event

The latest event in Pokémon Go puts the spotlight on Fighting types in the popular mobile game. Not only will Pokémon like Makuhita and Machop show up more often in Pokémon Go, but Raid Bosses have also changed.

Starting May 1-14, Raid Bosses in Pokémon Go will reflect the Fighting-type event. This doesn't mean that all of the Pokémon that appear in Raid Battles have changed, but there are Fighting types that now appear at the top of Gyms for trainers to battle and catch.

Pokemon go fighting event, shiny meditite, new shinies, medicham, makuhita, new, raid, bosses,  start time, end time
The new 'Pokemon Go' event revolves around the Fighting-type and includes new Raid Bosses and Shiny Types. Find out about the event start, end time and more, here. Niantic


During the Fighting-type event in Pokémon Go trainers receive double experience for Gym and Raid battles. Raid Battles will also guarantee 3000 Stardust just for participating and at least one Rare Candy if you win. This is to encourage Pokémon Go players to participate in more Raid and Gym battles.

There are six new bosses that appear in Pokémon Go during the Fighting-type event: Primeape, Combusken, Hitmonlee, Hitmonchan and Poliwrath now appear as Raid Bosses.

Pokémon Raid Battles are separated by tiers or levels from one to five (from weakest to strongest). Below are the Raid Bosses during the Pokémon Go Fighting-type event with their Max CP with 100 percent IVs without and with the weather boost. New Raid Bosses are in bold.

If you want a visual, check out this infographic from Reddit user, NidosPokemonGo.

Tier 1

  • Wailmer (814/1017 CP)
  • Magikarp (125/157 CP)
  • Snorunt (441/551 CP)
  • Swablu (412/516 CP)

Tier 2

  • Primeape (1203/1503 CP)
  • Combusken (841/1052 CP)
  • Exeggutor (1666/2083 CP)
  • Sableye (745/932 CP)
  • Mawile (848/1060 CP)

Tier 3

  • Hitmonlee (1375/1718 CP)
  • Hitmonchan (1119/1499 CP)
  • Machamp (1650/2063 CP)
  • Breloom (1375/1720 CP)

Tier 4

  • Poliwrath (1395/1744 CP)
  • Aggron (1716/2145 CP)
  • Tyranitar (2097/2621 CP)
  • Absol (1303/1629 CP)

Tier 5

  • Latios - (2082/2603 CP)
  • Latias - (1929/2412 CP)
  • Mewtwo (EX Raid) - (2275/2844 CP)

What do you think of the Raid Boss changes in Pokémon Go? Who do you want to try and catch? Let us know in the comments section below.