PFA Player of the Year: Which Premier League Star Will Be Crowned?

Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez
Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez at St James' Park, Newcastle, November 21, 2015. Vardy and Mahrez are the front-runners for the PFA Player of the Year award. Ian MacNicol/Getty

The six nominees for the 2016 PFA Player of the Year Award will travel to London on Sunday for the victor to be crowned.

Leicester City trio Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N'Golo Kante will be joined at Grosvenor House by West Ham United's Dimitri Payet, Tottenham Hotspurs' Harry Kane, and Arsenal's Mesut Ozil.

Pundits and columnists have put the case forward for each of the candidates, from Vardy's fairytale rise to Payet's technical brilliance; the prolific Kane to the solid Kante. But one man has the backing of the bookmakers.

With odds as low as 1/3, Leicester's Mahrez is favorite to win the top prize ahead of his teammate Vardy. It may be a photo-finish with the England international close behind at 5/2, but Mahrez, the creative Algerian midfielder, is tipped.

Although on course to win the golden shoe, Kane trails the Leicester duo in third while Kante, the Foxes' defensive midfielder, is fourth.

Payet and Ozil are in with an outside chance at fifth and sixth, respectively.