Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: All the Inductees So Far

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2020 Inductions is a two-hour HBO special airing on Saturday, November 7 at 8 p.m., which will see Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G. and T. Rex join an illustrious hall of legends that includes everyone from Abba to ZZ Top.

More recently, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has been criticised for the lack of diversity in its inductees. Per Billboard, under eight percent of all inductees are women, with artists like Madonna, Joni Mitchell, Aretha Franklin and Blondie's Debbie Harry among the relatively few women who have been voted to join the Hall of Fame—a particular insult when men like Paul McCartney, Paul Simon and Rod Stewart have been inducted twice.

The inductees have also gotten whiter over time. From a majority black list in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame's first year, a third of inductees are now BIPoC, even as the inductees have slowly but surely started to reflect rap music.

Though debates can rage endlessly about the inductees missing from the list and the diversity of those who have made it, here is everyone who has made it into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame so far:

All the inductees of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

1986: Chuck Berry, James Brown, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Fats Domino, The Everly Brothers, Buddy Holly, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard and Elvis Presley.

rock and roll hall of fame
Aretha Franklin was the first woman inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Getty

1987: The Coasters, Eddie Cochran, Bo Diddley, Aretha Franklin, Marvin Gaye, Bill Haley, B.B. King, Clyde McPhatter, Ricky Nelson, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins, Smokey Robinson, Big Joe Turner, Muddy Waters and Jackie Wilson.

1988: The Beach Boys, The Beatles, The Drifters, Bob Dylan and The Supremes.

1989: Dion, Otis Redding, The Rolling Stones, The Temptations and Stevie Wonder.

1990: Hank Ballard, Bobby Darin, The Four Seasons, The Four Tops, The Kinks, The Platters, Simon & Garfunkel and The Who.

1991: LaVern Baker, The Byrds, John Lee Hooker, The Impressions, Wilson Pickett, Jimmy Reed and Ike & Tina Turner.

rock and roll hall of fame inductees
Jimi Hendrix and his band were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1992. Getty

1992: Bobby "Blue" Bland, Booker T. & the M.G.'s, Johnny Cash, The Isley Brothers, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Sam & Dave and The Yardbirds.

1993: Ruth Brown, Cream, Creedence Clearwater Revival, The Doors, Frankie Lymon & The Teenagers, Etta James, Van Morrison and Sly and the Family Stone.

1994: The Animals, The Band, Duane Eddy, The Grateful Dead, Elton John, John Lennon, Bob Marley and Rod Stewart.

1995: The Allman Brothers Band, Al Green, Janis Joplin, Led Zeppelin, Martha and the Vandellas, Neil Young and Frank Zappa.

1996: David Bowie, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Jefferson Airplane, Little Willie John, Pink Floyd, The Shirelles and The Velvet Underground.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees
David Bowie entered the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1996. Getty

1997: Bee Gees, Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills & Nash, The Jackson 5, Joni Mitchell, Parliament-Funkadelic and The (Young) Rascals.

1998: Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, The Mamas & the Papas, Lloyd Price, Santana and Gene Vincent.

1999: Billy Joel, Curtis Mayfield, Paul McCartney, Del Shannon, Dusty Springfield, Bruce Springsteen and The Staple Singers.

2000: Eric Clapton, Earth, Wind & Fire, The Lovin' Spoonful, The Moonglows, Bonnie Raitt and James Taylor.

2001: Aerosmith, Solomon Burke, The Flamingos, Michael Jackson, Queen, Paul Simon, Steely Dan and Ritchie Valens.

inductees Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Most of the female Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees are solo artists. Tina Weymouth of the Talking Heads is one of the few female members of a band to have been included. Getty

2002: Isaac Hayes, Brenda Lee, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Gene Pitney, Ramones and Talking Heads.

2003: AC/DC, The Clash, Elvis Costello & the Attractions, The Police, The Righteous Brothers.

2004: Jackson Browne, The Dells, George Harrison, Prince, Bob Seger, Traffic and ZZ Top.

2005: Buddy Guy, The O'Jays, The Pretenders, Percy Sledge and U2.

2006: Black Sabbath, Blondie, Miles Davis, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Sex Pistols.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame diversity
Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five's induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2007 began its belated celebration of rap music. Getty

2007: Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five, R.E.M., The Ronettes, Patti Smith and Van Halen.

2008: The Dave Clark Five, Leonard Cohen, Madonna, John Mellencamp and The Ventures.

2009: Jeff Beck, Little Anthony and the Imperials, Metallica, Run-DMC and Bobby Womack.

2010: ABBA, Genesis, Jimmy Cliff, The Hollies and The Stooges.

2011: Alice Cooper, Neil Diamond, Dr. John, Darlene Love and Tom Waits.

rock roll hall fame inductees
Rod Stewart is among those inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice: Once as a solo artist and once as a member of The Small Faces. Getty

2012: Beastie Boys, The Blue Caps, The Comets, The Crickets, Donovan, The Famous Flames, Guns N' Roses, The Midnighters, The Miracles, Laura Nyro, Red Hot Chili Peppers and The Small Faces / Faces.

2013: Heart, Albert King, Randy Newman, Public Enemy, Rush, Donna Summer.

2014: Peter Gabriel, Hall & Oates, Kiss, Nirvana, Linda Ronstadt and Cat Stevens.

2015: The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts, Lou Reed, Green Day, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble and Bill Withers.

2016: Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple, N.W.A and Steve Miller.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame members
Trent Reznor and his band Nine Inch Nails are among the 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees. Getty

2017: ELO, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur, Yes.

2018: Bon Jovi, The Cars, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone.

2019: The Cure, Def Leppard, Janet Jackson, Stevie Nicks, Radiohead, Roxy Music and The Zombies.

2020: Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G. and T. Rex.