'RuPaul's Drag Race' Season 12 Contestants Revealed: Meet the Queens Competing to be Next 'Drag Superstar'

A new fleet of queens is gearing up to compete for the title of America's Next Drag Superstar. VH1 announced the contestant lineup for the upcoming Season 12 of the reality competition RuPaul's Drag Race on Thursday.

The highly anticipated new season features 13 drag queens hailing from cities all across America including Aiden Zhane of Acworth, Georgia; Crystal Methyd of Springfield, Missouri; Dahlia Sin and Gigi Goode of Los Angeles; Heidi N Closet of Ramseur, North Carolina; Jaida Essence Hall of Milwaukee; Rock M. Sakura of San Francisco; Widow Von'Du of Kansas City, Missouri; and Brita, Jackie Cox, Jan, Nicky Doll and Sherry Pie of New York.

The troupe will compete in a series of challenges and—more importantly—lip-sync performances to earn the Drag Superstar title in addition to winning a cash prize of $100,000.

As in previous seasons, fans can expect an abundance of attitude, personality, over-the-top looks and the shadiest of shade. "With each new generation of queens, the RuPaul's Drag Race revolution continues to drive culture," RuPaul Charles, the show's creator, host and executive producer, said in a statement. "And as more and more new viewers discover the show, the phenomenon continues to open hearts and minds with love, laughter and a whole lotta [sic] sass."

During the Season 11 finale in May 2019, Yvie Oddly beat out finalist Silky Nutmeg Ganache and A'Keria Chanel Davenport. It was Oddly's ability to showcase the duality of drag—pairing polished and poised performances with eye-catching and totally out-of-the-box drag—that put her a step above the rest.

A native of Denver, Oddly was thrilled about her victory but told Entertainment Weekly she was even more proud to be a part of something as inclusive and representative of the LGBTQ+ community as Drag Race.

"I can't imagine myself growing up and seeing a drag queen on TV that I could look at, or seeing a gay person on TV at all," she said. "And now we're getting all these little kids who are watching us and becoming fans, looking at us and seeing that it's OK to be yourself, it's OK to be different, and it's OK to wear makeup if you're a boy! We're really changing the next generation!"

The new season of RuPaul's Drag Race premieres on VH1 on February 28 at 8 p.m. ET.

Meet the 13 New Queens Competing on 'RuPaul's Drag Race' Season 12
The 13 new contestants of "RuPaul's Drag Race" were announced on January 23. The VH1 reality competition returns with Season 12 on February 28. Courtesy of VH1