'Saturday Night Live': How to Watch Elon Musk on SNL

Saturday Night Live is set to be hosted by Elon Musk this Saturday, despite the social media protests of various SNL cast members. The Tesla founder and current third richest person in the world (per Forbes) will host the NBC show on Saturday, May 8. He will be joined by musical guest (and three-time former host) Miley Cyrus.

How to watch Elon Musk on SNL

The episode will air live on NBC at 11:30 p.m. ET on the east coast. Viewers in other time zones will be able to watch at 10:30 p.m. CT, 9:30 p.m. MT and 8:30 p.m. PT.

Viewers who want to watch the episode live stream online will be able to do so on the NBC website. However, they will have to log in via their TV provider details to access the NBC live stream.

There is a way to watch SNL live online for free without a cable provider. A number of live TV services offer an NBC live stream, including Hulu with Live TV, YouTube TV, Sling and Fubo TV. These all offer free trials that will allow new subscribers to see Musk's stint on Saturday Night Live.

elon musk snl
Miley Cyrus, Elon Musk and Cecily Strong on the set of "Saturday Night Live." NBC

For viewers willing to wait until Sunday, the episode will be available on a number of streaming services. Hulu gets episodes of SNL the day after they air, and they usually drop at 12 p.m. (midday) ET. Around the same time, episodes also come to Peacock.

Both Hulu and Peacock offer a free trial—30 days in Hulu's case, and seven for Peacock. After that time, Hulu costs $5.99 a month with ads (or $11.99 without them), while Peacock costs $4.99 with commercials, or $9.99 a month without them.

On Friday, the show released its first promo, in which Musk says he'll "be good...ish." This comes after a tweet in which he teased: "Let's find out just how live Saturday Night Live really is."

Musk has recently been sharing sketch ideas with his 53 million-plus Twitter followers. Among the ideas he has tweeted are "Baby Shark & Shark Tank merge to form Baby Shark Tank," "Irony Man—defeats villains using the power of irony," and "Woke James Bond."

Numerous SNL cast members have made social media posts referencing Musk's hosting gig. Bowen Yang wrote "what the f*** does this even mean" on Instagram replying to the billionaire's "let's find out just how live" tweet, while Aidy Bryant shared a Bernie Sanders tweet about wealth inequality onto her Instagram story. Fellow cast member Andrew Dismukes wrote on his Instagram story, "only CEO I wanna do sketch with is Cher-E Oteri."