'Sea of Thieves' Servers Down? Planned Updates Include Bug Fixes and More

Sea of Thieves was shut down for a few hours earlier this morning while developer Rare carried out some planned maintenance to the game's servers. The scheduled outage ended at 9 a.m. EDT, but more maintenance is scheduled for the next few days.

Good afternoon pirates! Today's maintenance window is being extended by an hour, meaning it will run between 9am and 1pm GMT. Thanks for your patience, we look forward to having you back out on the #SeaOfThieves

— Sea of Thieves (@SeaOfThieves) March 22, 2018

You'll notice all times posted by Rare are GMT, or Greenwich Mean Time. To convert that to times in the United States, you'll want to subtract. For those on the East Coast, you'll want to subtract four hours. So 12 p.m. GMT would be 8 a.m. EDT. For those on the West Coast, you'll need to subtract seven hours. This makes 12 p.m. GMT the same time as 5 a.m. PDT.

Future server updates will take place on Saturday, March 24 from 5 a.m. to 8 a.m. EDT and Tuesday, March 27 during the same window of time.

So what is Rare working on while the servers are down? The team is aware of a number of bugs plaguing players and expects to make fixes soon. In the meantime, the developers have some advice for players to help fix a number of problems. These include:

  1. Having trouble logging in and playing
    1. Rare's advice: Try joining in with a crew that is already playing. This will let you skip over the initial matchmaking flow.
  2. Not getting gold for chests/not getting rewards for completing voyages
    1. Rare's advice: Don't reset your game, just keep playing. Your rewards will be delivered eventually.
  3. Achievements are delayed
    1. Rare's advice: Just keep playing. A fix for this should be coming early next week.
  4. You don't have items after loading into the game
    1. Rare's advice: A fix for this should be coming early next week.
  5. Performance issues for Xbox One X owners
    1. Rare's advice: A fix for this should be coming early next week.

So what do you think? Are you happy to see updates coming for some of the biggest problems with Sea of Thieves? What else would you like to see added in a future update? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.