Snapchat Isn't Deleting Memories, Here's How to Save Them Anyway

Some Snapchat users were startled this week after getting a message from friends or seeing a screenshot of a message that appeared to be from Team Snapchat that said their "memories" in the app would be deleted. But fortunately for users, it's not true.

The message making the rounds on the app and on Twitter says, "Important Notice from Team Snapchat! In the next 24 hours our Data Servers are being renewed. This means all of your pictures in memory's will be wiped! To keep your data, hold down this Chat, click the blue arrow and send to all your friends. This will let us know that you're still active! Happy Snapping."

But when users shared an image of the message with the Snapchat Support Twitter account and asked if it's true, the Snapchat Support account replied that it isn't. The account even called the hoax message, "fake news!" After fielding questions about the rumor for several hours, the support account tweeted that they were aware of the rumor and that users shouldn't worry.

Memories is a feature within Snapchat in which users can save their snaps and stories from the app. Users can easily access that content in the app, and they can even edit the snaps, send them to friends or add them to current stories. It's just another way for users to store the content they create in the app rather than saving it directly to their device.

The message seemed to be making the rounds similar to the way chain emails that warn users should forward the message "or else." Users who didn't know the message was a hoax were upset by the prospect of losing their memories in the app.

Some users were saying that if their memories were deleted from the app they would dump the app altogether.

But other users were calling the message a hoax and didn't believe it.

Others were actually annoyed at how many times they were sent the hoax message by friends.

For now, Snapchat users don't need to worry, their memories are safe in the app, but anyone who wants to save their memories to their device anyway can do so. Saving old memories can take quite some time because users need to go through their memories individually and tap, hold and then export each one they want to save to their device.

snapchat notification
The logo of mobile app 'Snapchat' is displayed on a tablet on January 2, 2014, in Paris. Some users fear the company will delete the memories they have saved in the app. Lionel Bonaventure/Getty Images
Snapchat Isn't Deleting Memories, Here's How to Save Them Anyway | Tech & Science
{{label}}
{{title}}
EDITOR'S PICK