'Star Wars: The Clone Wars': Here Are the Episodes You Need to Watch for Season 7

Star Wars: The Clone Wars heads into its last season on Friday. The final episodes of the series set to tie up all loose ends in the prequel era of Star Wars, putting the final touches to the story of Anakin Skywalker's turn to Darth Vader.

Season 7 will be primarily focusing on the finale of the Mandalore arc, Ahsoka Tano's return, and Skywalker's final transition to the Sith Lord. Season 6 premiered in 2014, and the entire series is currently available on Disney+ for fans to catch up. But if you are looking for the SparkNotes version, here are the three central arcs to watch in The Clone Wars to prepare for Season 7.

Obi-Wan Kenobi: Seige of Mandalore Arc

Season 2: Episode 12 "The Mandalore Plot," Episode 13 "Voyage of Temptation," and Episode 14 "Duchess of Mandalore"

Season 5: Episode 14 "Eminence," Episode 15 "Shades of Reason," and Episode 16 "The Lawless"

Mandalore has been one of the most fleshed-out worlds of Star Wars thanks to The Clone Wars. The series introduced the politics, factions and people of the planet--the most important being Dutchess Satine and her connection to Obi-Wan Kenobi.

Kenobi got an extra level of character development, shedding more light on his past and building out the character on a more complete level. Darth Maul has a sizable role in this arc as well, but explaining it will fit better in our next section. Disney+'s The Mandalorian also features details on the world of Mandalore, as it looks like Lucasfilm is intent on exploring it in greater detail.

Ahsoka Tano Arc

Season 5: Episode 17 "Sabotage," Episode 18 "The Jedi Who Knew Too Much," Episode 19 "To Catch a Jedi," and Episode 20 "The Wrong Jedi"

Quite possibly the most important legacy of The Clone Wars is the creation and the subsequent surge of popularity of Ahsoka Tano. The padawan (apprentice) of Anakin Skywalker, Ahsoka is a three-dimensional, layered character with a ton of grey area embedded into her. She is prevalent in most of the episodes of the series, but her character truly shines in a dedication arc in Season 5.

Ahsoka will return to the series after the events of "The Wrong Jedi," as Lucasfilm hypes her showdown with Maul. Maul had a significant role in the latter half of The Clone Wars as the primary villain for Obi-Wan Kenobi in the Seige of Mandalore arc. His battle with Ahsoka will be a decisive moment in the series' final episodes, setting up the fates of each character.

Clone Wars
'Star Wars: The Clone Wars' Season 7 Lucasfilm / Disney

Anakin Skywalker Arc

Season 2: Episode 15 "Overlords," Episode 16 "Altar of Mortis," and Episode 17 "Ghosts of Mortis"

As with most Star Wars content, The Clone Wars focuses on the primary Skywalker of the era: Anakin Skywalker. The series takes place squarely between Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith, with Season 7 expected to fully overlap with the latter.

Skywalker's eventual fate to become Darth Vader has been touched upon in the series in subtle ways. But in the three-episode Mortis arc, the curtain was unveiled with powerful sequences showcasing Skywalker's future and his role as the Chosen One of the Force.

Season 7 of The Clone Wars is expected to take fans of the series as far into Revenge of the Sith as it can, with Order 66 expected to be adapted for the series in a unique way.