Demogorgons v. Demodogs: Everything We Know About the 'Stranger Things' Creatures from the Upside Down

Demogorgons, Demodogs and The Mind Flayer–oh my!

Stranger Things Season 3 is finally here, reuniting fans the residents of Hawkins and the terrifying creatures of the Upside Down.

While it's clear The Mind Flayer is the main antagonist of the show, one creature is clearly the second-most most frightening creature of the franchise. Audiences first caught wind of the Demogorgon in the very first episode, as the boys (Mike, Will, Dustin and Lucas) play Dungeons and Dragons. Initially seen as a plastic figurine, the Demogorgon quickly became a reality as the Upside Down invaded Hawkins, but things only got more horrifying in Season 2 with the introduction of Demodogs.

So, what's the difference when it comes to Demogorgons and Demodogs? Well, it turns out they're the same creature, just at different stages of growth. Yes, you read that right–a Demodog is just a teenage Demogorgon.

The main difference between a Demodog and a Demogorgon is simply that the Demodog is younger and not fully grown. Though Demodogs are perfectly capable of tackling a full-grown human, the creatures are susceptible to injury; while a full-grown Demogorgon is barely fazed by gunfire.

Demodogs and Demogrogons may be the two most discussed stages of the creatures lifecycle but the creature is more complicated than that. Explore the full lifecycle of a Demogorgon below, thanks to the Stranger Things wiki.

The Demogorgon in all its faceless glory. Netflix

Phase One: Slug

The first stage of a Demogorgons life is a slug-like creature. This phase was first seen in Season 1, when Hopper and Joyce travel to the Upside Down to save Will and find Barb's lifeless body covered in slugs.

Will also coughed up the yellow-spotted larvae at the conclusion of Season 1, a foreshadowing of him becoming a host of The Mind Flayer in Season 2.

Phase Two: Pollywog

The second phase of a Demogorgon's life first appeared in Season 2, after Dustin found this harmless three-limbed creature rummaging in his trashcan.

The Pollywog phase of the creature's lifecycle is slightly similar to the slug phase. Demogorgons at stage two don't look much like a full-grown Demogoron, except for their claw-like hands.

Pollywogs are extremely sensitive to heat–which Dustin found out after trying to care for it like a domesticated lizard– just like The Mind Flayer.

Phase Three: Frogogorgon

A Pollywog turns into a Frogogorgon after its exchanges its tail for a pair of hind legs. Known as a Frogorgon, the third phase shows the baby Demogorgon increase in body mass and change to a dark green color.

Phase Four: Catogorgon

At stage four, we finally see the creature take on Demogorgon-like characteristics. Developing the signature "petal mouth," it is at stage four that the creature becomes carnivorous–which we saw after the young Demogorgon devoured Dustin's cat.

Phase Five: Demodog

Now we have arrived at the final two stages of a Demogorgon's life. As discussed above, Demodogs possess some of the qualities of a full-grown Demogorgon, however, remain susceptible to injury.

At the size of a large dog, this creature is quite athletic and completely capable of tackling and consume a full-grown human.

Phase Six: Demogorgon

We have now arrived at the final, and arguably most terrifying, phase–a full-grown Demogorgon. Reaching heights of six to 10 feet, a Demogorgon trades its animalistic tendencies for human-like intelligence.

While it's not certain that all Demogorgons possess the same abilities, the one featured in the Season 1 finale was able to open inter-dimensional portals and acquired some sort of telekinetic ability.

Stranger Things Season 3 is now available to stream on Netflix.