Thrilled Fans React To Taylor Swift's Latest Album 'Lover'

Taylor Swift's latest album Lover dropped on Friday and fans could not be more thrilled. Her seventh album marks a distinctive change from her polarizing 2017 album, Reputation — a rageful collection in which the 29 year old singer embraced her anger in the form of snake symbolism and refused to speak to the press about it.

Reputation made me fall in love with myself and Lover made me fall in love with life. #Lover

— Mai Stands w Taylor (@mariana___leal) August 23, 2019

Lover, in complete contrast, shows Swift moving past antagonism and searching for deep love instead. Critics, for the most part, have been very impressed despite reservations about the album's length — it has 18 tracks. Fans seem to have no issue with this.

When someone asks me what my fav songs of lover is: #TaylorSwift #Lover

— Jenny Alison (@JennyAlison13) August 23, 2019


— lexipedia 🎄 (@missamericanas) August 23, 2019

I don't read the Bible, I listen to it. #Lover @taylorswift13

— 𝑷𝒂𝒎𝒆 🦋 (@captain_beckett) August 23, 2019

One fan tweeted on Friday, "SO AFTER LISTENING TO LOVER I HAVE CONCLUDED THAT ITS ALBUM OF THE YEAR!. LIKE THIS ALBUM IS AMAZING #Lover." Another said, "Cruel Summer is one of the best songs I've ever heard #Lover."

Cruel Summer oh my god don’t even make me start.. this piece of work by the brilliance of St. Vincent, Jack Antonoff and Taylor Swift all sitting in a room together to come up with this LYRICALLY CHILLING AND BEAUTIFUL masterpiece. #Lover

— zainub (@zainubamir) August 23, 2019

Literally me right now #Lover

— Bon Bon 🎄✨ (@ponnnnn13) August 23, 2019

The album features lead track "ME!" with Panic! at the Disco's Brendon Urie and "You Need To Calm Down," the second single Taylor released from the album.

Speaking with Entertainment Weekly in May, she accentuated the differences between Lover and 2017's Reputation, saying: "This time around I feel more comfortable being brave enough to be vulnerable, because my fans are brave enough to be vulnerable with me. Once people delve into the album, it'll become pretty clear that that's more of the fingerprint of this — that it's much more of a singer-songwriter, personal journey than the last one."

"I like shiny things, but I'd marry you with paper rings" #Lover

— nao⋆☾ (@alltoobrien) August 23, 2019

- You are what you love


— 𝐁𝐨𝐥𝐤𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐤𝐢 (@bolkonski_ii) August 23, 2019

the dramá! the range! the emotion!!!! the flavor!!!!!!! #Lover is more than Taylor Swift’s best album it’s an absolute musical masterpiece 😩💖

— Oscar Gracey (@oscargracey) August 23, 2019

Swift tweeted on Friday, "This album is very much a celebration of love, in all its complexity, coziness, and chaos. It's the first album of mine that I've ever owned, and I couldn't be more proud. I'm so excited that #Lover is out NOW"

This album is very much a celebration of love, in all its complexity, coziness, and chaos. It’s the first album of mine that I’ve ever owned, and I couldn’t be more proud. I’m so excited that #Lover is out NOW:

— Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13) August 23, 2019
taylor swift
Taylor Swift performs on ABC's "Good Morning America" at SummerStage at Rumsey Playfield, Central Park on August 22, 2019 in New York City. (Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for ABA)

In the liner notes on the album, Swift wrote that "the album is a love letter to love itself - all the captivating, spellbinding, maddening, devastating red, blue, gray, golden aspects of it (that's why there are so many songs)."

When Taylor said “I Thought Love Was BURNING RED but it’s Golden” in Daylight I FELT THAT GROWTH #LOVER

— 𝓛𝓸𝓿𝓮, dsy (@TS7Track2) August 23, 2019

"London Boy," the eleventh track on the album, has been particularly noted by Twitter fans — as it is safe to assume the track is inspired by Swift's British boyfriend, Joe Alwyn (she has also dated several other 'London boys.') The popstar sings about her love for the British capital, from Camden Market to Highgate to Brixton.

Taylor Swift really nailed the London experience in “London Boy” #Lover

— jshez (@jshez) August 23, 2019

Tom Hiddleston, Harry Styles and Joe Alwyn after listening to London Boy

— 𝓛𝓸𝓿𝓮, Taj 💗 (@falsegodmp3) August 23, 2019

The song opens with a brief spoken clip, in which an Idris Elba says: "We can go driving on my scooter... you know, just round London."

I can’t believe idris elba is on the album, I love it

— 𝐑𝐚𝐜𝐡☽ (@soitgxes_) August 23, 2019

On Thursday, the singer announced that she intends to record new versions of her hit songs after her back catalogue was bought by pop manager Scooter Braun.

After the album's release, Braun took to Twitter in an attempt to smooth over relations with the superstar.

Regardless of what has been said the truth is you don’t make big bets unless you are a believer and always have been. Brilliant album with #Lover. Congrats @taylorswift13. Supporting was always the healthier option 😊 #brilliantalbum #brilliantcampaign congrats

— Scooter Braun (@scooterbraun) August 23, 2019