These 19 Senate Republicans Voted for the $1.2T Infrastructure Package

After weeks of negotiations, the U.S. Senate voted Tuesday to advance a $1.2 trillion infrastructure package that includes funding for roads, bridges, water systems and other priorities.

The infrastructure bill passed on a 69-30 vote, with 19 Republicans joining all Democrats to send it to the U.S. House for final vetting.

It needed 60 votes to make it to its final vote under Senate rules, requiring bipartisan support. The final vote needed just 51 to pass.

A bipartisan group of 22 senators spent the last several weeks hashing out a proposal behind the scenes before unveiling the nearly 3,000-page bill on August 1. They've spent recent days debating proposed amendments on the Senate floor before taking up the historic vote.

"It's time to bring this bill home and do what the American people expect of us, which is to find bipartisan solutions to our nation's pressing challenges," Senator Shelley Moore Capito, a West Virginia Republican who was among the key negotiators, said on the Senate floor.

Former President Donald Trump has taken aim at Republicans who supported the infrastructure package, including U.S. Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, a Kentucky Republican, with several e-mailed statements in recent days. Trump has complained that the infrastructure package's passage benefits Democrats in upcoming elections and threatened to back GOP primary challengers to incumbents who voted in favor of advancing the infrastructure bill.

The Senate is set to pivot to a separate $3.5 trillion budget resolution that's stuffed with Democratic priorities and will only need 50 votes to pass the Senate and isn't expected to get bipartisan support. The U.S. House, which is currently in its August recess, has sound to link the two proposals and won't take up the infrastructure bill until the larger package passes out of the Senate.

U.S. Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, a New York Democrat, has said he plans to keep the Senate in session, cutting into senators' regularly scheduled August recess, to pass the budget framework.

Here are the Senate Republicans who voted for the $1.2 trillion infrastructure package:

  • Roy Blunt of Missouri
  • Richard Burr of North Carolina
  • Bill Cassidy of Louisiana
  • Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia
  • Susan Collins of Maine
  • Kevin Cramer of North Dakota
  • Mike Crapo of Idaho
  • Deb Fischer of Nebraska
  • Lindsey Graham of South Carolina
  • Chuck Grassley of Iowa
  • John Hoeven of North Dakota
  • Mitch McConnell of Kentucky
  • Lisa Murkowski of Alaska
  • Rob Portman of Ohio
  • Jim Risch of Idaho
  • Mitt Romney of Utah
  • Dan Sullivan of Alaska
  • Thom Tillis of North Carolina
  • Roger Wicker of Mississippi
Senate advances $1.2T infrastructure package
Nineteen Senate Republicans voted alongside their Democratic colleagues to advance the $1.2T infrastructure package. Above, the U.S. Capitol Building is seen on August 8, 2021, in Washington, DC. Samuel Corum/Getty Images