These U.S. States Still Have Not Issued Coronavirus Stay At Home Orders—All Their Governors are Republican

Amid the coronavirus pandemic, there are still seven U.S. states that have not issued a stay-at-home order, and each of the state's governors are Republicans.

According to a tracker provided by Johns Hopkins University, there are more than 582,000 confirmed cases in the U.S. While many experts, including the U.S. Surgeon General Jerome Adams, believe that there should be a nationwide stay-at-home order in place, these seven states have decided to implement their own measures to combat the spread of the novel coronavirus.

The seven states are Arkansas, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.

Arkansas Republican Governor Asa Hutchinson has not issued a statewide stay-at-home order and recently told CNN's Jake Tapper that the "tough time is behind."

"We want to take the long-term approach to this and you're not going to win simply by a lockdown," Hutchinson added. Instead of implementing a statewide lockdown, Hutchinson has decided to look toward alternative social distancing measures to slow the spread in Arkansas. The state has ordered all gyms and entertainment venues to close, as well as forcing restaurants to offer take-out options only. There is also a 10-person limit on social gatherings, but this does not apply to outdoor spaces, such as state parks, which have remained open.

According to the tracker, there are more than 1,400 confirmed cases in Arkansas and at least 30 deaths.

Coronavirus in U.S.
These U.S. states have not imposed a stay-at-home order. Angela Weiss/Getty

In Iowa and Wyoming, there are no statewide stay-at-home orders in place, but like Arkansas, these states have a number of social distancing measures to help combat the spread.

Governor Kim Reynolds in Iowa and Governor Mark Gordon in Wyoming have both placed a limit on public gatherings and closed some businesses. In Iowa, all nonessential businesses are closed, public gatherings are limited to 10 people, and restaurants are only permitted to offer take-out options. Similarly, in Wyoming, all theaters, bars, museums, nightclubs and other public places are closed, restaurants are forced to offer take-out options and social gatherings are limited.

According to the tracker, there are more than 1,700 cases and at least 43 deaths in Iowa, while there are over 270 cases in Wyoming and at least 1 death.

On the other hand, things are slightly different in Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Utah.

Both Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts and South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem have not imposed a statewide stay-at-home order nor a statewide directive closing nonessential businesses. Instead, both governors have placed a limit on social gatherings and forced restaurants to offer take-out options only.

According to the tracker, there are over 867 confirmed cases and at least 6 deaths in South Dakota, while there are over 870 cases in Nebraska and at least 18 deaths.

While both North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum and Utah Governor Gary Herbert have not imposed a statewide stay-at-home order, they have attempted to limit residents' face-to-face interactions.

In North Dakota, there is no statewide directive on limiting social gatherings, but Burgum has closed personal-care and recreational facilities, while also forcing restaurants to only offer take-out options. There are more than 330 cases in North Dakota as well as at least 8 deaths.

In Utah, nonessential businesses must limit face-to-face contact between employees and residents. The state has also ordered high-risk individuals, such as older people and those with underlying medical conditions to stay home as much as possible. In Utah, there are more than 2,300 confirmed cases and at least 13 deaths.