The latest news on impeachment proceedings. In the United States, impeachment by Congress of a president or vice president is granted under Article One of the United States Constitution. Articles of Impeachment must first be drafted by the judiciary committee and then voted by the full U.S. House of Representatives before they are sent to the U.S. Senate for trial. A two-thirds vote by the Senate is required for removal of office. Only three presidents have been impeached in U.S. history: Andrew Johnson in 1868, Bill Clinton in 1998 and Donald Trump in 2019 and 2021.