Solar Eclipse: Live Updates and Pictures

In Oregon, the first state to be plunged into darkness, the solar eclipse will begin at 9:05 a.m. local time, as the moon creeps in front of the sun.

What Time the Solar Eclipse Starts in Your State

The eclipse will pass through Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, Montana, Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina as it moves from coast to coast.

How the GOP's Gianforte Won Montana's Special Election

Thursday's Republican victory for an open House of Representatives seat turned out to be a hyper-interpreted microcosm of America's crazy national moment, complete with a "body slam" that sent a reporter to the hospital.