Watch Live as the Full Snow Moon Rises above the City of Rome

A full Snow Moon is set to grace the skies above Earth—and you will be able to watch as our natural satellite rises above the city of Rome, Italy.

The Virtual Telescope Project (VTP) will be hosting a live stream of the full Snow Moon rising above the Eternal City on February 27.

The live feed, which can be found here, will begin at 5 p.m. UTC, which is equivalent to 12 p.m. ET or 9 a.m. PT.

"Looking at the full Moon at sunset is always memorable and the Virtual Telescope will share with the community worldwide its spectacular view at rise, above the local horizon in Rome," astronomer Gianluca Masi, founder of age VTP, wrote on the project's website. "Enjoy the full Snow Moon 2021 with us!"

"I believe that adding the terrestrial panorama below the moon will be a bonus," Masi told Newsweek.

Technically, the moon becomes full at a specific moment in time. At this moment, our natural satellite will appear opposite the sun in Earth-based longitude—or in other words, the Earth will be located directly between the sun and the moon.

In February, 2021, this moment will occur at 8:17 a.m. UTC—equivalent to 3:17 a.m. ET or 12:17 a.m. PT on February 27.

Unlike in North America, the full moon will not actually be visible to observers in Rome at this time as the sun will have risen. Full moons always rise at sunset and set at sunrise.

But despite the fact that the moon turns full at a specific moment, it will appear as if it is fully illuminated for around three days centered on 3:17 a.m. ET—from Thursday night through Sunday morning, according to NASA.

For observers in North America, the night of Friday, February 26 will provide the best views of the Snow Moon in real life. Look to the sky after sunset as the moon rises above the horizon in the east.

The name "Snow Moon" originates with Native American tribes in the northeast of what is now the U.S. According to the National Weather Service, February tends to be the snowiest month in this region of the United States.

The full moon that falls in February also has several other names, including the Storm Moon and Hunger Moon, which also originate with Native American peoples.

The former refers to the typically harsh weather conditions seen during the month. While the latter was likely chosen because of the fact that poor weather conditions would have made hunting difficult.

Full moon rises over Rome, Italy
A full moon rises through the clouds over Rome, Italy, on November 14, 2016. Franco Origlia/Getty Images