When Is 2019 Africa Cup of Nations? When Are Egypt, Nigeria and Senegal Playing, TV Channel, Schedule and Odds

A week after the Gold Cup and the Copa America got underway, Africa joins the festival of continental tournaments as the Africa Cup of Nations kicks off this Friday.

In many ways, the 32nd edition of the tournament has made history before a ball has even been kicked. For the first time, the Africa Cup of Nations will feature 24 teams. This edition also marks the first time the tournament has been moved to the summer, as opposed to its traditional winter slot.

The shift should guarantee the tournament maximum exposure, given that from the quarter-finals stage onward it will be the only major competition running.

The downside to that is that players arrive into the tournament at the end of a gruelling season, which could have a negative impact on performances. None of Africa's five representatives qualified for the knockout stage of the World Cup last year, but with the likes of Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Riyad Mahrez and Hakim Ziyech on display there's plenty to get excited about.

When is the Africa Cup of Nations?

The tournament kicks off on Friday, June 21 and ends with the final on July 19.

Where is the Africa Cup of Nations?

The tournament takes place in Egypt, with six venues spread across four host cities—Cairo, Alexandria, Suez and Ismailia.

Three of the six venues are in the Egyptian capital—including the Cairo International Stadium, which will host the final.

The tournament was originally meant to be hosted by Cameroon, which would have marked the first time since 1972 the country had staged the Africa Cup of Nation

However, Cameroon was stripped of its hosting rights in November 2018 due to ongoing delays in the delivery of infrastructure, the Boko Haram insurgency and the escalating Anglophone crisis.

Mohamed Salah, Liverpool
Mohamed Salah of Liverpool reacts after scoring the opening goal during the UEFA Champions League Final between Tottenham Hotspur and Liverpool at Estadio Wanda Metropolitano on June 1 in Madrid, Spain. Ian MacNicol/Getty

TV channel

Every game of the tournament will be broadcast live in the U.S. by beIN Sports

Live stream

The tournament will be available in its entirety on beIN Sports' digital platforms. Live streams will also be available on fuboTV, Sling World Sports, Sling Latino and Fanatiz.

Which teams are in the Africa Cup of Nations?

The tournament has been expanded from 16 to 24 teams and features three debutants – Burundi, Madagascar and Mauritania. Egypt qualified even before it was awarded the tournament, while defending champions Cameroon punched its ticket in March.

After missing out in 2017, South Africa and Guinea return to the competition, as do Angola and Nigeria, who failed to qualify for the last two editions.

Kenya, Namibia and Benin make their first appearance since 2004, 2008 and 2010 respectively, while Tanzania ended a 39-year-hiatus when it qualified.

African soccer heavyweights Algeria, Tunisia, Senegal, Morocco, Ghana, Ivory Coast have all qualified, while Uganda, Mali, Guinea-Bissau, Zimbabwe and DR Congo complete the picture.

Sadio Mane, Senegal
Sadio Mane of Senegal looks on during a friendly match between Senegal and Mali after both teams qualified for the 2019 CAN held in Egypt, on March 26 in Dakar, Senegal. Xaume Olleros/Getty

Tournament format

The 24 nations have been split into six groups of four, with each team playing each other once and the top two in each group qualifying for the round of 16, along with the four best-ranked third teams.

From the round of 16 onward, the tournament follows the traditional knock-out stage format.


The 32nd edition of the tournament has been billed as one of the most open in recent years, a feeling that is reflected by the bookmakers.

According to VegasInsider, Egypt and Senegal are 4/1 favorites to lift the trophy, followed by Ghana at 5/1 and Nigeria at 11/2. Morocco is further back at 8/1, with Ivory Coast, Algeria and Cameroon at 10/1, 12/1 and 14/1 respectively.


The schedule for the first round of games is as follows (all times ET).

Friday, June 21

  • Egypt vs Zimbabwe, 4 p.m.

Saturday, June 22

  • DR Congo vs Uganda, 10:30 a.m.
  • Nigeria vs Burundi, 1 p.m.
  • Guinea vs Madagascar, 4 p.m.

Sunday, June 23

  • Morocco vs Namibia, 10:30 a.m.
  • Senegal vs Tanzania, 1 p.m.
  • Algeria vs Kenya, 4 p.m.

Monday, June 24

  • Ivory Coast vs South Africa, 10:30 a.m.
  • Tunisia vs Angola, 1 p.m.
  • Mali vs Mauritania, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, June 25

  • Cameroon vs Guinea-Bissau, 1 p.m.
  • Ghana vs Benin, 4 p.m.