Where Does 'The Nun' Fit in 'The Conjuring' Timeline?

From director Corin Hardy, The Nun is the newest installment in The Conjuring universe. The film will tell the story of "the origins of the demonic entity that will be haunting the Warrens in Conjuring 2," Hardy explains in a featurette released by Warner Bros. in August.

"One of the things that occurred to us early on is, they have a superhero universe. Why can't we do that in the horror world?" said James Wan, director of The Conjuring. "When we were making the first Conjuring, it became apparent to us that we could make a bigger universe with so many other great stories."

Where does The Nun fit into the timeline? Below is a comprehensive guide to the timeline of The Conjuring movies, which began as horror stories loosely based on the lives and career of real-life paranormal investigators, Ed and Lorraine Warren.

Taissa Farmiga as Sister Irene in New Line Cinema's horror film "THE NUN," a Warner Bros. Pictures release. Martin Maguire/Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

The Nun, 1952

The newest chapter in the Conjuring timeline, this film is the origin story of Valek, the demon that first began haunting the Warrens in The Conjuring 2. In 1952, the Vatican dispatches a priest and a young nun to investigate the mysterious deaths of two religious sisters in a Romanian abbey.

Annabelle: Creation, 1955

Released in 2017, Annabelle: Creation takes place just two years after the events in The Nun. It follows the story of the doll Annabelle, which appears in the Warren's collection room in The Conjuring films. The film follows the life of a dollmaker and his wife after their daughter dies tragically in a car accident. Annabelle, the dollmaker's demon-possessed creation, torments their home after they decide to take in a group of orphaned girls. In a post-credit scene, Valak is seen walking the halls of the Romanian abbey featured in The Nun.

Annabelle, 1970

This film was released in 2014 and takes place after the events in Creation. A couple expecting a baby buys a vintage doll, Annabelle, for their unborn child. At the beginning of the film, the couple's neighbors are murdered by two cult members, a man and a woman. The woman turns out to be one of the orphaned girls introduced in Creation. Annabelle, possessed by a demon, torments the couple for the remainder of the film.

The Conjuring, 1971

The movie that started it all, released in 2013, The Conjuring follows paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren. At the start of the film, the Warrens had just investigated a demonic doll named Annabelle. They are called to Rhode Island to look into a family that claims their dilapidated Harrisville home is haunted. When the mother becomes possessed by the vengeful spirit of the witch, Bathsheba, the Warrens must perform an exorcism without a priest.

The Conjuring 2, 1977

This sequel was released in 2016 and is the first time the Warrens are confronted with Valak, the main demon in The Nun. The film begins with the Warrens investigating the Amityville house. A year later, they travel to England to look into a possession happening in the London suburb of Enfield. The film is based on the real-life Enfield Poltergeist. It is revealed that the demonic entity haunting the home is Valak the Demon Nun, and the movie ends with Lorraine Warren condemning Valak back to Hell forever.

The Nun premieres in theaters everywhere on Friday.