Who Is Voting for Brett Kavanaugh? Here's How Every Senator Has Indicated They Will Vote on Supreme Court Nominee

Senator Jeff Flake of Arizona was the first of several key swing voters on Friday to publicly pledge support for embattled Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh as the Senate moves to confirm Kavanaugh as soon as next week. But Flake later threw the process into further doubt when he announced he was only voting to move Kavanaugh through the Senate Judiciary Committee on the basis that there be an FBI investigation and a delay to a vote on the Senate floor for no more than one week.

Senators Joe Donnelly and Jon Tester on Friday later said that they would be voting against Kavanaugh. But there are still as many as six other lawmakers who could ultimately decide the judge's fate. Currently, 50 Republicans have backed Kavanaugh while 47 Democrats are against, with a mix of four senators from both parties still undecided, at least publicly.

Senators Joe Manchin, Lisa Murkowski, Jon Kyl and Mike Enzi could each represent a vote of "no" against Kavanaugh's appointment. Manchin, Donnelly, Collins and Murkowski have reportedly decided that they will all vote the same way.

Manchin, Heitkamp and Donnelly, all Democrats, face difficult re-election campaigns in states that voted for President Donald Trump in 2016. How they vote could ultimately decide their elections.

Heitkamp issued a statement after Christine Blasey Ford and Kavanaugh testified Thursday, and while she called for the FBI to investigate Ford's claim of sexual assault against Kavanaugh, she did not state exactly which way she would vote.

But, Heitkamp revealed Thursday she would vote against Kavanaugh, telling WDAY ABC that while "the process has been bad" she still would vote "no."

Enzi remains a very slight wild card but is expected to vote with fellow Republicans.

Senator Jon Kyl of Arizona, who took over following the death of John McCain, was previously viewed as a solid vote for Kavanaugh but he too has not stated how he plans to vote. A spokesperson told The Arizona Republic that Kyl would "make his statement regarding Judge Kavanaugh's nomination during the debate on the Senate floor."

After a dramatic intervention by Flake in pressing the Senate Judiciary Committee, the FBI was tasked with conducting a supplementary background investigation of Kavanaugh on Friday. The FBI concluded its probe and issued findings to the Senate late Wednesday, after which senators were allowed to review the materials in a secure area. Following their review of the FBI's interviews with nine witnesses, both Flake and Collins appeared to be leaning toward approving Kavanaugh.

Below is a running tally of senators who have publicly stated how they plan to vote, have shown outsize support or criticism for Kavanaugh throughout his confirmation process, or are likely to vote along party lines.


Senator Joe Manchin (D) of West Virginia

Senator Jon Kyl (R) of Arizona

Senator Lisa Murkowski (R) of Alaska

Senator Jeff Flake (R) of Arizona

Senator Susan Collins (R) of Maine


Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) of Kentucky

Senator Bob Corker (R) of Tennessee

Senator Lindsey Graham (R) of South Carolina

Senator Ted Cruz (R) of Texas

Senator Chuck Grassley (R) of Iowa

Senator Deb Fischer (R) of Nebraska

Senator John Cornyn (R) of Texas

Senator Lamar Alexander (R) of Tennessee

Senator Orrin Hatch (R) of Utah

Senator Mike Lee (R) of Utah

Senator Mike Enzi (R) of Wyoming

Senator John Barrasso (R) Wyoming

Senator John Boozman (R) of Arkansas

Senator James Risch (R) of Idaho

Senator James Lankford (R) of Oklahoma

Senator Corey Gardner (R) of Colorado

Senator John Hoeven (R) North Dakota

Senator Ron Johnson (R) of Wisconsin

Senator John Thune of South Dakota

Senator Johnny Isakson (R) of Georgia

Senator Dean Heller (R) of Nevada

Senator Bill Cassidy (R) of Lousiana

Senator Ben Sasse (R) of Nebraska

Senator David Perdue (R) of Georgia

Senator Thom Tillis (R) of North Carolina

Senator Roger Wicker (R) of Mississippi

Senator John Kennedy (R) of Louisiana

Senator Mike Crapo (R) of Idaho

Patrick Toomey (R) of Pennsylvania

Senator Roy Blunt (R) of Missouri

Senator Richard Burr (R) of North Carolina

Senator Dan Sullivan (R) of Arkansas

Senator Pat Roberts (R) of Kansas

Senator Jerry Moran (R) of Kansas

Senator Tom Cotton (R) of Arkansas

Senator Tim Scott (R) of South Carolina

Senator Joni Ernst (R) of Iowa

Senator Rob Portman of (R) Ohio

Senator Mike Rounds (R) of South Dakota

Senator Marco Rubio (R) of Florida

Senator Shelley Capito (R) of West Virginia

Senator Steve Daines (R) Montana

Senator Todd Young of (R) Indiana

Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R) of Mississippi

Senator Rand Paul (R) of Kentucky

Senator Richard Shelby (R) of Alabama

Senator James Inhofe (R) of Oklahoma


Senator Joe Donnelly (D) of Indiana

Senator Jon Tester (D) of Montana

Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D) of North Dakota

Senator Doug Jones (D) of Alabama

Senator Bill Nelson (D) of Florida

Senator Cory Booker (D) of New Jersey

Senator Ben Cardin (D) of Maryland

Senator Tom Carper (D) of Delaware

Senator Dick Durbin (D) of Illinois

Senator Diane Feinstein (D) of California

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D) of New York

Senator Kamala Harris (D) of California

Senator Richard Blumenthal (D) of Connecticut

Senator Mazie Hirono (D) of Hawaii

Senator Chris Van Hollen (D) Maryland

Senator Bob Menendez (D) of New Jersey

Senator Michael Bennet (D) of Colorado

Senator Tom Udall (D) of New Mexico

Senator Mark Warner (D) of Virginia

Senator Chris Coons (D) of Delaware

Senator Tina Smith (D) of Minnesota

Senator Amy Klobuchar (D) of Minnesota

Senator Brian Schatz (D) of Hawaii

Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D) of New Hampshire

Senator Ron Wyden (D) of Oregon

Senator Bernie Sanders (I) of Vermont

Senator Debbie Stabenow (D) of Michigan

Senator Martin Heinrich (D) of New Mexico

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D) of Rhode Island

Senator Patrick Leahy (D) of Vermont

Senator Tammy Baldwin (D) of Wisconsin

Senator Edward Markey (D) Massachusetts

Senator Sherrod Brown (D) of Ohio

Senator Maria Cantwell (D) of Washington

Senator Maggie Hassan (D) of New Hampshire

Senator Gary Peters (D) of Michigan

Senator Jack Reed (D) of Rhode Island

Senator Jeff Merkley (D) of Oregon

Senator Patty Murray (D) of Washington

Senator Bob Casey (D) of Pennsylvania

Senator Tim Kaine (D) of Virginia

Senator Angus King (I) of Maine

Senator Claire McCaskill (D) of Missouri

Senator Chris Murphy (D) of Connecticut

Senator Elizabeth Warren (D) of Massachusetts

Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D) of Nevada

Senator Tammy Duckworth (D) of Illinois