How and When to Watch the June 10 'Ring of Fire' Solar Eclipse Online

People will be able to watch tomorrow's solar eclipse online as a number of observatories are directing their telescopes toward the Sun.

The solar eclipse is expected to be properly visible from parts of Canada, Greenland, and northern Russia. Elsewhere, viewers in parts of North America, Europe and Asia may be able to catch a partial view.

It is expected to begin at around 8:12 a.m. UTC, (4:12 ET), but the greatest eclipse will be visible at around 10:41 UTC (6:41 ET).

Because it is not possible to view the eclipse everywhere—and because it is not safe to look directly at the Sun during an eclipse anyway—astronomers are working to bring the view online.

In cooperation with the Italy-based Virtual Telescope Project, a number of observers in Canada, described by the project as "generous astro-imagers," will share their view of the phenomenon from various locations around the country.

A live feed covering the eclipse will start at 9:00 a.m. UTC (5:00 a.m. EDT), June 10, on the Virtual Telescope Project's WebTV page here.

Gianluca Masi, director of the project, told Newsweek: "We worked, as in the past years, to build an international team, involving different observers and institutions. This will bring to our audience, I believe, additional feelings and a better experience, underlining how cooperation can be important in modern scientific research and outreach.

"To me, an eclipse is always special. Even the partial ones, as they are telling us about intriguing mechanisms at work around us, invisible otherwise.

"The annular eclipse is telling us how our Moon is sometimes closer, sometimes further, moving on an eccentric, elliptic orbit."

It is never safe to look directly at the Sun, even in an eclipse. NASA states: "When watching a partial solar eclipse or annular solar eclipse, you must wear solar viewing or eclipse glasses throughout the entire eclipse if you want to face the Sun.

"Solar viewing or eclipses glasses are NOT regular sunglasses; regular sunglasses are not safe for viewing the Sun."

An alternative method is to use a pinhole projector. A NASA guide on how to make one is available here.

Solar eclipses occur when the Moon passes between the Sun and the Earth, blocking out some or all of the Sun's light temporarily. Because of the curvature of the Earth, solar eclipses do not look the same everywhere on the planet.

Thursday's eclipse is known as an annular eclipse, meaning the Moon is expected to appear smaller than the Sun in the sky.

This will mean that, even in parts of the world where the eclipse is full, the Moon will not completely block the Sun's light and will instead appear as a dark disc in its center. The phenomenon has been referred to as a "ring of fire" for this reason.

Views of the partial eclipse will be available online as well. The UK's Royal Observatory in Greenwich, London, is offering a view from its location.

The observatory states around 25 percent of the Sun will be covered by the Moon from the U.K. It plans to use its Annie Maunder Astrographic Telescope to watch the event and its stream begins at 10:05 a.m. BST (5:05 a.m. ET) on YouTube.

And NASA will also be offering a view of the partial solar eclipse, weather permitting, on a live YouTube stream starting 5 a.m. ET.

Solar eclipse
A solar eclipse pictured in Wyoming, August 2017. It is not safe to look directly at an eclipse, and viewing it in person should be done only with proper equipment. George Frey/Getty