'Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3:' How to Unlock Every Character

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order is available now for Nintendo Switch and it brings heroes and villains together to take on Thanos and his minions.

There is a huge roster of characters you can use to build your team of three, but they are all not unlocked from the start. Like past Ultimate Alliance games, most of the characters will be unlocked as you progress through the story.

But there are a few secret characters that you'll need to unlock through other means.

If you want to collect all the Marvel heroes, villains and everything in between, here's exactly how you do it in Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3.

ultimate alliance 3 unlock secret characters


The easiest and fastest way to unlock characters in Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3 is by progressing through the story. You'll have a few characters to start with, which in this game means you'll be playing with the Guardians of the Galaxy. You'll play through the intro mission and then be thrust into various locations in the Marvel Universe.

Complete the story missions in these locations to unlock another character for your team. Some characters will join at the start of the mission, some halfway and some only after defeating certain bosses.

Here's the list of characters and when you unlock them:

Unlocked from the Start

  • Drax
  • Groot/Rocket
  • Star-Lord
  • Gamora

Chapter 1

  • Black Widow
  • Falcon
  • Captain America
  • Captain Marvel
  • Iron Man
  • Wolverine
  • Scarlet Witch
  • Spider-Man
  • Thor
  • Hulk
  • Crystal

Chapter 2

  • Venom
  • Miles Morales
  • Spider Gwen
  • Ms. Marvel
  • Luke Cage

Chapter 3

  • Iron Fist
  • Daredevil

Chapter 4

  • Wasp
  • Hawkeye

Chapter 5

  • Psylocke
  • Nightcrawler
  • Deadpool

Chapter 6

  • Elsa Bloodstone
  • Ghost Rider
  • Dr. Strange

Chapter 7

  • Storm
  • Black Panther


Ultimate Alliance 3 also features Infinity Trials. During some stages, you'll run into Infinity Rifts, which will take you to another plane of existence. These maps are set up like a grid where each box will be a specific battle.

Each battle has its own clear conditions and a rank of one to three stars upon completion. Defeat each battle to make your way through the map to the end. There are four grid maps that will unlock characters when you finish them.

Here are the four unlockable characters:

  • Elektra - Beat final trial in the first Rift Grid after completing Chapter 5
  • Magneto - Beat final trial in the second Rift Grid after completing Chapter 7
  • Loki - Beat final trial in third Rift Grid after completing the story
  • Thanos - Beat final trial of the last Rift Grid after completing the story

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order is available now for Nintendo Switch.