Joe Biden's New Orleans Visit: Full Schedule of Hurricane Ida Survey

President Joe Biden will visit New Orleans and other parts of Louisiana today (September 3), to survey the impact of Hurricane Ida, which made landfall in the state on August 29.

Biden has also approved a major disaster declaration for Louisiana, which made federal funding available to affected individuals in several parishes across the state.

In a speech Thursday addressing Hurricane Ida response efforts, the president said: "Tomorrow, I'll be traveling to Louisiana to meet with Governor John Bel Edwards, as well as the parish presidents and mayors and the local officials representing the affected areas.

Biden added: "My message to everyone affected is: We're all in this together. The nation is here to help."

The president stated the governor assured him that his visit "will not disrupt recovery efforts on the ground."

According to Louisiana's Lafayette Daily Advertiser, among those expected to meet with Biden on Friday is Democratic New Orleans Rep. Troy Carter.

Carter said: "We are pleased that the president recognizes the importance of seeing firsthand the damages throughout the state of Louisiana.

"This rapid response from [the president] further demonstrates his commitment to Build Back Better," Carter said.

Biden's Hurricane Ida Survey Schedule

The White House announced the president's visit on September 1 and has yet to officially release further details about his trip. Newsweek has contacted the White House for confirmation of the full schedule for the president's visit.

Below are some of the activities expected to take place during Biden's visit, as reported by The Associated Press:

2:15 p.m. ET (1:15 p.m. CDT): Biden will get a briefing from local leaders.

3:35 p.m. ET (2:35 p.m. CDT): The president is scheduled to tour a neighborhood in LaPlace of the New Orleans metropolitan area of southern Louisiana and deliver remarks on the Biden administration's response to Ida

4:55 p.m. ET (3:55 p.m. CDT): He will survey the damage from the storm via an aerial tour departing from the Port of South Louisiana Executive Regional Airport.

5:40 p.m. ET (4:40 p.m. CDT): Biden will arrive in Lafourche Parish via South Lafourche Leonard Miller Jr. Airport.

6 p.m. ET (5 p.m. CDT): The president will meet with local leaders from impacted communities in Galliano of the Bayou Lafourche area in Lafourche Parish.

6:40 p.m. ET (5:40 p.m. CDT): He will depart South Lafourche Leonard Miller Jr. Airport en route to New Orleans.

7:10 p.m. ET (6:10 p.m. CDT): Biden will depart Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport en route to Philadelphia.

Joe Biden at Hurricane Ida briefing.
President Joe Biden speaks during a virtual briefing about Hurricane Ida from the White House campus on August 30 in Washington, D.C. Brendan Smialowski / AFP via Getty Images

Aftermath of Hurricane Ida in Louisiana

Ida made landfall near Port Fourchon on Sunday as an "extremely dangerous category 4 hurricane" with maximum sustained winds of 150 miles per hour, according to the National Hurricane Center (NHC).

AP reported Thursday that the death toll from Ida has climbed to at least six.

A coroner confirmed a 65-year-old woman had drowned in her home in Louisiana, while Maryland police said a 19-year-old man was found dead in an apartment complex flooded by heavy rain in the aftermath of Ida.

Damage from the hurricane left the Louisiana barrier island of Grand Isle "uninhabitable," Cynthia Lee Sheng, the president of Jefferson Parish of the Greater New Orleans area, said during a news conference earlier this week.

Ida is the fifth most powerful hurricane to hit the U.S., having caused widespread damage across Louisiana and parts of Mississippi.

Ida caused over a million residents to be without power across Louisiana, including the entirety of New Orleans at one point. On September 1, Entergy New Orleans, the city's energy provider, said the company had started restoring power to the region.

According to PowerOutage.US, over 857,000 residents in Louisiana and over 21,500 in Mississippi were reported to be without power at the time of reporting.

AP reported Thursday that health officials said over 600,000 people lacked running water, while some low-lying communities remained mostly underwater.

Homes destroyed in Louisiana after Hurricane Ida.
Homes destroyed in the wake of Hurricane Ida shown on September 2 in Grand Isle, Louisiana. Win McNamee/Getty Images