#BTSComeback2020 Trends As New BTS Album 'Map of the Soul: 7' is Released

The new BTS album Map of the Soul: 7 has been released today with a new music video for the album's title track "On."

The band will showcase their new record in a series of interviews and events in the coming days, including a live interview Friday morning with the Today show at Rockefeller Plaza in New York City at 8 a.m. and 9 a.m. (Eastern Standard Time) and a special event held tonight in Times Square at 7 p.m. (EST).

They will also perform their new song "On" in a comeback special airing on South Korea's Mnet music channel later this week.

Their new music video, titled "BTS (방탄소년단) 'ON' Kinetic Manifesto Film : Come Prima", was released on the official YouTube channel of Big Hit Entertainment, the band's management company. A second music video for "On" will be released on M Countdown, a South Korean music channel airing by Mnet, on February 28.

A clip of the lead single "ON" was released Friday at 6 a.m. (Korean Standard Time) on TikTok, the video-sharing platform, while it's full track list was unveiled earlier this week. The new record features a collaboration with Australian singer Sia in an additional version of "On".

Fans will also be in for a "pleasant surprise" with the new BTS song "Inner Child", according to co-writer of the track Ellis Miah, a New York artist based in Los Angeles who has written, produced and remixed music for a string of musicians including Jennifer Lopez, Sia, Backstreet Boys, Christina Aguilera, Miley Cyrus, Annie Lennox and Yoko Ono, among others.

Speaking to Newsweek about "Inner Child" and working with BTS, Miah said: "As far as 'Inner Child' goes, you'll be in for a pleasant surprise. Vocally [BTS member] V delivers everything you love from his ballad performances. While it has the tenderness of a ballad, it evolves into something you'll want to sing along with at any stadium. I wouldn't say it was written for him as much as it was written with him. It's such a thrill and honor to hear melodies and lyrics you contributed sung with such depth and soul."

"'Inner Child' was truly a collaborative project. V, PDogg [South Korean music producer] and RM [BTS member] had a clear vision for the song and we're so grateful to have been invited to be a part of it," he added.

Other co-writers on the "Inner Child" include Scottish singer-songwriter KoolKid, British electronic music group Arcades (who also wrote and produced two songs on the previous BTS album Map of the Soul: Persona) as well as singer-songwriter Adien Lewis, who has worked with other K-pop artists including NCT Dream and Taemin from Shinee.

"Kool Kid and Arcades are based in the U.K. and came to my studio in LA, along with Adien Lewis, and well all had an in-person jam session. We passed ideas back and forth from Seoul to London to LA. It was a transglobal process," Miah told Newsweek.

"We also have to keep up with the fast pace that the band keeps! They have a tremendous work ethic and you have to try and catch up. What is fascinating is that while everyone from musicians, engineers, producers and the band are working on these songs, the band is still out performing and meeting fans! They do double duty!" he said.

Anticipation for the return of the K-pop giants has been building over the past few days with the band drip-feeding fans with glimpses of the new record, including several sets of concept images of the new album.

Following their Today show interview, the band will also be doing a round of other television and radio interviews, including one with MTV Fresh Out in Times Square at 11 a.m., another live interview with Syke and MJ in the Morning radio show, which airs from 5:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. (EST) on 106.1 BLI and another interview with ExtraTV in New York City before a special event for Hyundai Motors, for which the band are ambassadors, in Times Square at 7 p.m. (EST).

Fans have taken to social media to share their excitement over the new BTS album in messages posted with the hashtag #BTSComeback2020, which has been top-trending on Twitter, along with several other related terms and hashtags.

"bts are about to break records which they created. their power is unmatched. #BTSComeback2020," wrote @kthdoingthings.

"bts mots7 comeback soon and even though i've had months to prepare... i'm still NOT READY. this comeback feels completely different from the rest. #BTSComeback2020 #MAP_OF_THE_SOUL_7" wrote @hwaornah.

"It feels like it's taken forever to get here! I'm so excited #BTSComeback2020," wrote @Piercethesydni.

BTS Times Square December 2019 NYE
BTS attend Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve With Ryan Seacrest 2020 on December 31, 2019. Getty Images

BTS will also feature in a special episode of The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon airing on February 24, which sees the band ride the subway on a tour of New York City's most iconic spots and perform at Grand Central Terminal.

They are also scheduled to feature in a "Carpool Karaoke" segment on James Corden's The Late Late Show on February 25.

The band will also be performing their song "On" on M Countdown as part of its "BTS Comeback Special" airing on Mnet on February 27.

The North American leg of the band's Map of the Soul concert tour runs on selected dates from April 25 to June 6 this year in the U.S. and Canada.

Full Track List for Map of the Soul: 7

  1. Intro: Persona
  2. 작은 것들을 위한 시 [Boy With Luv (Feat. Halsey)]
  3. Make It Right
  4. Jamais Vu
  5. Dionysus
  6. Interlude : Shadow
  7. Black Swan
  8. Filter
  9. 시차
  10. Louder than bombs
  11. On
  12. 욱 [UGH!]
  13. 00:00 (Zero O'Clock)
  14. Inner Child
  15. 친구 [Friend]
  16. Moon
  17. Respect
  18. We are Bulletproof : the Eternal
  19. Outro : Ego
  20. On (Feat. Sia)