Soul Train Awards 2021 Line Up: All the Performers Coming to BET This Year

The Soul Train Awards are back for their 34th ceremony, which is set to air on November 28 at 8 p.m. ET / PT on BET, BET Her, MTV2, and VH1. This year, in an event coming from Harlem's legendary Apollo Theater, we are also celebrating 50 years of Soul Train.

To mark that anniversary, BET has a whole night of performances planned. First there will be the awards themselves, featuring performances from the likes of Maxwell, Ashanti and Bruno Mars.

As part of the awards, the show is also bringing back its Soul Cypher freestyle, which will pay tribute to Aaliyah on the 20th anniversary of her death.

Once the awards (to be hosted by Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold) are over, the fun continues with DJ Cassidy's Pass The Mic, which has assembled one of its most impressive line-ups yet.

Who Is Performing At the Soul Train Awards 2021?

The telecast will include performances from the following:

  • Maxwell (who is taking home this year's Legend Award)
  • Ashanti (this year's Lady Soul honoree)
  • Silk Sonic (aka Bruno Mars and and Anderson .Paak)
  • Ari Lennox
  • Leon Bridges
  • Lucky Daye
  • Summer Walker
  • Fred Hammond
  • Elhae (BET Amplified Stage)
  • Marrzz (BET Amplified Stage)
soul train awards 2021
Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold at the Soul Train Awards. In 2021, the duo are hosting their fourth edition of the ceremony. Getty

Also making an appearance during the awards are Ciara and Russell Wilson, Marley Dias, Fat Joe, Ja Rule, El Debarge, Jazmine Sullivan, Mack Wilds, Normani, Devale Ellis, Crystal Hayslett, Parker McKenna Posey, Paula Patton, Hosea Chanchez and Wendy Raquel Robinson

Who Is Taking Part In the 2021 Soul Cypher?

The Soul Cypher has been Soul Train awards staple since former host Erykah Badu originated it in 2015. It sees a number of artists collaborate in a freestyle event in which they perform over a beat.

This year's beat comes courtesy of Aaliyah's "Rock the Boat," which has its 20th anniversary this year.

Taking part in the Soul Cypher will be: D-Nice, Musiq Soulchild, Jac Ross, Koryn Hawthorne, Elle Varner and Tone Stith.

Who Are the Performers for DJ Cassidy's Pass The Mic: BET Soul Train Edition?

BET is giving the Soul Train Awards an after show party with a special edition of DJ Cassidy's Pass The Mic that celebrates both a year of that show and 50 years of Soul Train.

For this special edition, Cassidy has assembled 20 R&B and hip hop legends for the show, some of whose experience with Soul Train stretched back to the 1970s.

Confirmed to be taking part are the following: Charlie Wilson, Stephanie Mills, Kurtis Blow, Melle, Mel, Jeffrey Osborne and Gloria Gaynor. The full line-up is being kept secret until the special starts airing.

Pass the Mic is set to air on BET on Saturday, November 28 at 10:35 p.m. ET.