Full List of Republicans Who Voted Against Medals for January 6 Police

The House has overwhelmingly passed legislation to award the Congressional Gold Medal to the police officers who defended the U.S. Capitol during the January 6 riots.

Lawmakers approved the award for the Capitol Police and the Metropolitan Police Department of Washington, D.C. by a vote of 406-21. All the "no" votes came from Republicans.

The 21 GOP lawmakers include ardent supporters of former President Donald Trump, some who have attempted to downplay the events of January 6 and others who have previously been linked to the QAnon conspiracy theory.

After the vote, a number of the Republican "no" voters said they took issue with the language used in the bill, which described the rioters as "a mob of insurrectionists."

Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky said this could have an effect on the hundreds of suspects who have been charged in connection with the events of January 6.

"I think, if we call that an insurrection, it could have a bearing on their case that I don't think would be good," Massie said, via The Hill.

"If they just wanted to give the police recognition, they could have done it without trying to make it partisan, without sticking that in there."

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia said she had voted against the bill because it referred to the Capitol as a "temple."

"I wouldn't call it an insurrection," Greene told Politico.

Rep. Scott Perry of Pennsylvania said: "It's all politics. It's all garbage."

Full list of Republicans who voted "no" to awarding the Congressional Gold Medal to police officers who defended the Capitol

  • Andy Biggs, Arizona
  • Lauren Boebert, Colorado
  • Michael Cloud, Texas
  • Andrew Clyde, Georgia
  • Warren Davidson, Ohio
  • Matt Gaetz, Florida
  • Louie Gohmert, Texas
  • Bob Good, Virginia
  • Paul Gosar, Arizona
  • Marjorie Taylor Greene, Georgia
  • Andy Harris, Maryland
  • Jody Hice, Georgia
  • Thomas Massie, Kentucky
  • Mary Miller, Illinois
  • Barry Moore, Alabama
  • Ralph Norman, South Carolina
  • Scott Perry, Pennsylvania
  • John Rose, Tennessee
  • Matt Rosendale, Montana
  • Chip Roy, Texas
  • Greg Steube, Florida

A number of lawmakers expressed their outrage at the representatives who had voted against the motion.

"How you can vote no to this is beyond me," tweeted Rep. Adam Kinzinger, a Republican from Illinois who is an outspoken critic of Trump.

"Then again, denying an insurrection is as well. To the brave Capitol (and DC metro PD) thank you. To the 21: they will continue to defend your right to vote no anyway."

In a CNN interview on Tuesday night, Rep. Gerald Connolly, a Democrat from Virginia, said: "They voted to overturn an election. But in their vote today, they kind of sealed the deal of basically affiliating with the mob.

"They now are part of the insurrectionist mob. They brought enormous disrepute and dishonor on themselves in not honoring the brave men and women who defended the Capitol of the United States—everybody in it, but also defending the symbol of democracy in the world, not just here in the United States."

Rep. Jim McGovern of Massachusetts said it was "sick" that the 21 Republicans had voted against the bill.

"But I mean, they have to live with themselves," the Democratic congressman told Politico. "It's sad, pathetic."

In a statement to Newsweek, a Capitol Police spokesperson said: "We are humbled and honored for the beautiful recognition."

The Metropolitan Police Department has also been contacted for comment.

Update 6/16/21 9:55 a.m. ET: This article was updated with a comment from Capitol Police.

GOP vote gold medals
Riot police push back a crowd of Donald Trump supporters as they try to storm the Capitol on January 6. The House has passed legislation to award the highest congressional honor to the officers who protected the building and the lawmakers inside. ROBERTO SCHMIDT/AFP/Getty Images