'Sex Education' Season 3 Release Time: When the Show Will Be Streaming on Netflix

Sex Education's last season arrived in January 2020 on Netflix, and since then fans have been patiently waiting for season 3 and the latest sexual misadventures of Otis (played by Asa Butterfield) and co.

Now, 19 months and a global pandemic later, the latest episodes are set to come out this September.

In the trailer for Sex Education season 3, we got a few hints of what to expect, like new headmistress Hope (Jemima Kirke) and Adam's (Connor Swindells) first steps out of the closet.

Here's when viewers will be able to watch the latest episodes and learn everything that this year has in school for the pupils of Moordale.

When Is Sex Education Season 3 Out?

The release date for the next eight episodes of the Netflix show is Friday, September 17.

There are two exceptions to this. Due to the way the timezones work in the U.S., two states will get those episodes on the evening of September 16: Hawaii and Alaska.

Sex Education Season 3 Release Time

On September 17, Sex Education will be released at just after midnight Pacific Daylight Time (PDT).

For viewers outside of America's West Coast, when those episodes are available to you will depend on your time zone. PDT is currently seven hours behind GMT / UTC.

As such, episodes will be available in the major Netflix territories at the following times:

  • Australia: 3 p.m. AWST / 3:45 p.m. ACWST / 4:30 p.m. ACST / 5 p.m. AEST
  • Brazil: 2 a.m. ACT / 3 a.m. AMT / 4 a.m. BRT
  • Canada: midnight PDT/MST / 1 a.m. MDT/CST / 2 a.m. CDT/EST / 3 a.m. EDT/AST /4 a.m. ADT / 4:30 a.m. NDT
  • Central Europe: 9 a.m. CEST
  • Eastern Europe: 10 a.m. EEST
  • India: 12:30 p.m. (noon) IST
  • Japan: 4 p.m. JST
  • Mexico: midnight PDT/MST / 1 a.m. MDT/ 2 a.m. CDT
  • South Korea: 4 p.m. KST
  • U.S.: 9 p.m. on September 16 HST / 11 p.m. on September 16 AKDT / midnight on September 17 PDT/MST / 1 a.m. MDT / 2 a.m. CDT / 3 a.m. EDT
  • United Kingdom: 8 a.m. BST.

Is Sex Education Streaming Online for Free Anywhere?

As a Netflix original, the streaming service is currently the only place to watch the new episodes. And, as Netflix no longer offers a free trial to its subscribers, viewers can't watch the show for free.

What Will Sex Education Season 3 Be About?

The official synopsis from Netflix reads: "It's a new year, Otis is having casual sex, Eric (Ncuti Gatwa) and Adam (Connor Swindells) are official, and Jean (Gillian Anderson) has a baby on the way.

Meanwhile, new headteacher Hope (Jemima Kirke) tries to return Moordale to a pillar of excellence, Aimee (Aimee Lou Wood) discovers feminism, Jackson (Kedar Williams-Stirling) gets a crush and a lost voicemail still looms. Prepare for commitment animals, alien phenomena, vulva cupcakes and much more of Madam Groff."

Sex Education Setting
Aimee Lou Wood, Emma Mackey and Asa Butterfield in "Sex Education." Cr. Sam Taylor/NETFLIX