World's Best Hospitals - Board of Experts

The global board of medical experts was founded by Statista to support the World's Best Hospitals Project. The board is an independent body that is tasked with the continuous development of the quality and scope of the project.

The idea behind the global board of medical experts is to create an independent body that is tasked with the continuous development of the quality and scope of the project. The global board of medical experts is therefore tasked with providing guidance and input for the continuous development and future expansions of the methodology. This includes input regarding new data sources, future methodological considerations, as well as the ongoing development of the PROMs implementation survey. The members of the global board of medical experts were carefully chosen based on their national and international expertise and decade-long experience in their respective medical fields as well as their scientific output. Current members of the board of experts are listed below.


David W. Bates, M.D. (Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston)

Chief of the division of general internal medicine and primary care at Brigham and Women's Hospital. He is an expert on patient safety and using information technology to improve care. Bates is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and a Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health. He directs the Center for Patient Safety Research and Practice at Brigham and Women's and served previously as external program lead for research in the WHO's Global Alliance for Patient Safety.


Jens Deerberg-Wittram, M.D. (RoMed Kliniken, Rosenheim, Germany)

CEO and president of RoMed, a German nonprofit health system. Deerberg-Wittram is the founding president of the International Consortium for Health Outcomes Measurement and lectures regularly on value-based health care. He has worked as a health care strategy consultant, served as the CEO of a German for-profit hospital and taught at Harvard Business School.


Gary S. Kaplan M.D. (Virginia Mason Franciscan Health, Seattle)

CEO Emeritus of the Virginia Mason Health System and Virginia Mason Franciscan Health. Kaplan has been a long time practicing internist and an expert on patient safety. He is also chair of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement's Lucian Leape Institute, which focuses on patient safety, a founding member of Health CEOs for Health Reform and has served as chair of the IHI's board of directors.


Prof. Gregory Katz (University of Paris School of Medicine, Paris)

Professor at the University of Paris School of Medicine. Katz holds the Chair of Innovation & Value in Health. He is also president of PromTime, a health data science company specializing in PROMs and value-based health care, commissioned by the French Ministry of Health to incentivize practitioners on high-value care. He has served as director of research & innovation at leading private hospital groups in Europe.


Christoph A. Meier, M.D. (University Hospital Zürich and University of Geneva, Switzerland)

Director, Department of Internal Medicine at University Hospital Zürich. Meier is a practicing internist and serves on several boards, including Swiss Federal Quality Commission. He has served as chief medical officer and deputy CEO of the University Hospital Basel where he implemented principles of value-based health care.


Eyal Zimlichman, M.D. (Sheba Medical Center, Ramat Gan, Israel)

Deputy director general, chief transformation officer and chief innovation officer at Sheba Medical Center. Zimlichman is the founder and director of the ARC innovation program, a global program that leads digital transformation efforts in healthcare. He is also the co-chairman of the Future of Health (FOH) global think-tank initiative. He is a founding member of the International Academy of Quality and Safety in Health Care and an International Expert at the International Society of Quality in Healthcare (ISQua).